The Windsor Regiment (RCAC)

Unit Identification

Windsor Regiment Badge

SEMPER PARATUS

"Always Prepared"

Location

Maj FA Tilston, VC Armoury and Police Training Centre
4007 Sandwich St.
Windsor, ON  N9C 1C3

Soldiers in a field - Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

Join Our Team

Looking for full-time or part-time work? We are hiring and provide excellent career opportunities. Please do not hesitate to call or email our recruiter who will be pleased to answer any questions you may have and provide direction on how to apply to our Regiment.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Windsor Reserve Recruiting Garrison
Phone: 519-254-2535 Ext. 4512
Email: WindsorChathamRec@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Contact a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

September to June:

  • Thursday evenings
  • 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
  • one weekend per month.

Full-time summer employment is available from May to August.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Weapons:

Vehicles:

See a list of Canadian Army weapons and vehicles.

Who We Are

We are a reserve unit located in South Western Ontario. The Windsor Regiment (RCAC) is a Land Force Reserve reconnaissance regiment.

The Windsor Regiment is a unit from the Canadian Forces 31 Canadian Brigade Group, a unique element of the Canadian Forces, whose task is to augment Canada's military by providing trained Armoured Reconnaissance soldiers.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commander: Lieutenant-Colonel N. Maroukis
  • Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer J. Micallef

Contact Us

Windsor Regiment
Maj FA Tilston, VC Armoury and Police Training Centre
4007 Sandwich St.
Windsor, ON  N9C 1C3

Phone: 519-254-2535
Email: WindsorChathamRec@forces.gc.ca

News

New members of The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada, a Toronto-based Army Reserve regiment, are given Coins of Remembrance to mark Remembrance Day.

Queen’s Own Rifles coins ‘a sacred obligation’ to their Fallen

Toronto, Ontario — A 20-year-old tradition of honouring 160 years of their Regimental Fallen with commemorative Coins of Remembrance is still going strong at the Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada (QOR).
November 26, 2019

Sergeant Harrison Meyer from C Company (Medevac) 1-108th Assault Helicopter Battalion United States Army, explains how to load and unload a Blackhawk helicopter with Canadian Armed Forces medical personnel during Operation IMPACT in Kuwait

Italian Campaign a bond for soldiers in Kuwait

Ali Al Salem Air Base, Kuwait — Italian and Canadian soldiers working side by side in Kuwait have formed a lasting friendship thanks in part to a little-known piece of Second World War history.
November 20, 2019

Sergeant Marnie Musson, a Medical Technician with Joint Task Force-Ukraine, mentors Combat First Aid training at the International Peacekeeping and Security Centre in Starychi Ukraine

Canadian researcher investigating gender and peacekeeping

Toronto, Ontario — As the United Nations and militaries across the world work toward greater female representation in peacekeeping operations, a Canadian researcher is delving into this little-studied area to shed more light on the potential implications.
November 19, 2019

See more news

History

In 1932 the army was reorganized to seven divisions in order to meet the needs of a possible Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) if required. This included a major restructuring of the army reserve, then known as the Non-Permanent Active Militia (NPAM). Many regiments where disbanded, amalgamated or re-roled to other arms, but there was finally to be an armoured component by 1936. One of six Infantry Battalions was born in 1936 through General Order (GO) 188/36, the Essex Regiment (Tank) was established in Windsor, Ontario on 15 December 1936. The Regiment achieved the distinction of being the first unit of the Canadian Army to wear the black beret which was associated with armoured soldiers since 1924 in the British Royal Armoured Corps. In September 1940, the Essex Regiment (Tank) received the order to stand down from active duty and the Regiment never received an opportunity to deploy as a whole unit. Rather, the soldiers where offered the opportunity to re-enrol in the Regiment proper or to join a different unit. The split was approximately 50/50 with those that departed joining the ranks of Headquarters Squadron 1st Canadian Army Tank Brigade under Brigadier FF Worthington, MC, MM. On 27 January 1942 the Essex Regiment (Tank) was renamed 30th (Reserve) Reconnaissance Battalion (Essex Regiment) but the traditional name remained in brackets due to regimental sentiment. In 1949 the Regiment became The Windsor Regiment (RCAC).

Throughout the 1950's and the Korean War, volunteers from the Windsor Regiment were sent to augment the forces serving there. On the 25th of May 1951, the Windsor Regiment became allied with a reconnaissance regiment from Great Britain, the 3rd Carabineers, later to become the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards in 1971. In 1954, the Windsor Regiment re-roled from reconnaissance to the armoured role, receiving M4A2E8 Sherman Tanks and training at Camp Petawawa and Camp Meaford to conduct gun camps and maintenance, among others tasks. In 1963, after a debate to whether the Regiment would receive infantry colours or a cavalry guidon, the Regiment's guidon was presented to them by the Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario, W. Earl Rowe. Effective 1 March 1965, the Regiment was converted back to reconnaissance. Throughout the 1970's the Regiment supported operations including the Montreal Olympics, student Militia programs, Op Butane in support of severe winter storms in south-western Ontario, and sending a recce troop to Germany to partake in an exercise with the RCD in 1978.

In September of 1979, the Windsor Regiment once again changed from reconnaissance back to armour. Throughout 1980 and 1981, the Regiment trained for the Cougar Armoured Vehicle which had a three man crew. Training was divided into driving and maintenance, gunnery, and armoured tactics. Although deemed a 'tank trainer' by the Corps, the Cougars saw action in Bosnia-Herzegovina and Somalia. In the early 1990s the Regiment earned the Worthington Trophy for best armoured reserve unit, and the Cumberland trophy for the ninth and tenth time, demonstrating a high standard of training. The Regiment also sent two troops to support Regular Force operations in Cambodia, and seven in Bosnia-Herzegovina. To date, the Regiment was changed once again from armoured to a role in reconnaissance in 1997. As of 2011, more than two-dozen members have deployed on Canada's operations in Afghanistan.

Date modified:

The Windsor Regiment (RCAC)

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du Windsor Regiment

SEMPER PARATUS

"Toujours prêt"

Emplacement

Manège militaire Major Tilston VC/centre d’entraînement de la police
4007, rue Sandwich
Windsor, ON  N9C 1C3

Reserve de L'Armée

Graphique: Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

Vous cherchez du travail à temps plein ou à temps partiel? Nous embauchons et offrons d'excellentes perspectives de carrière. N'hésitez pas à appeler ou envoyer un courriel à notre recruteur qui se fera un plaisir de répondre à vos questions et de vous indiquer comment vous adresser à notre régiment.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Windsor Reserve Recruiting Garrison
Téléphone : 519-254-2535, Ext. 4512
Courriel : WindsorChathamRec@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

septembre à juin:

  • mardi soir
  • 19 h à 22 h
  • une fin de semaine par mois.

L'emploi d'été à plein temps est disponible de mai à août.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes :

Véhicules :

Voir une liste des armes et véhicules de l'Armée canadienne.

Qui nous sommes

Nous sommes une unité de la Réserve située dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario. The Windsor Regiment (RCAC) est un régiment de reconnaissance de la Réserve de la Force terrestre.

The Windsor Regiment est une unité du 31e Groupe-brigade du Canada des Forces canadiennes, un élément unique des Forces canadiennes, dont le mandat consiste à accroître l’effectif militaire du Canada en fournissant des soldats des unités blindées de reconnaissance.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel N. Maroukis
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef J. Micallef

Communiquez avec nous

The Windsor Regiment
Manège militaire Major Tilston VC/centre d’entraînement de la police
4007, rue Sandwich
Windsor, ON  N9C 1C3

Téléphone : 519-­254-­2535
Courriel :  WindsorChathamRec@forces.gc.ca

Nouvelles

Les Forces armées canadiennes et des Alliés parfont leurs compétences de combat interarmées dans le cadre de l’exercice assisté par ordinateur UNIFIED RESOLVE 2020

10 février 2020 – Kingston (Ont.) – Ministère de la Défense nationale/Forces armées canadiennes
Le 10 février 2020

Major Greg Frank

La fin de 37 ans de service soulignée par un dernier tir d’obus

Meaford (Ontario) — Par un frais après-midi d’octobre, le major (à la retraite) Greg Frank s’affairait à charger un obusier C3 de 105 mm. C’est une tâche qu’il a accomplie littéralement des milliers de fois au cours de sa carrière de 37 ans dans la Réserve de l’Armée canadienne. Toutefois, cette fois-ci était différente des autres : il s’agissait du tout dernier obus qu’il allait tirer de sa carrière.
Le 7 février 2020

De nouveaux membres des Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada, un régiment de la Réserve de l’Armée basé à Toronto, reçoivent des Pièces du Souvenir pour marquer le Jour du Souvenir.

Les pièces des Queen’s Own Rifles, un « devoir sacré » envers leurs morts au combat

Toronto (Ontario) — Une tradition vieille de 20 ans, qui permet d’honorer les militaires du Régiment morts au combat depuis 160 ans avec des Pièces du Souvenir, est encore en vigueur chez les Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada (QOR).
Le 26 novembre 2019

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

En 1932, l’armée est réorganisée en sept divisions afin de pouvoir répondre, le cas échéant, aux besoins d’une éventuelle Force expéditionnaire du Canada (FEC). Cette réorganisation donne lieu à une importante restructuration de la Réserve de l’armée, connue alors sous le nom de Milice active non permanente (MANP). Plusieurs régiments sont soit démantelés, soit fusionnés, soit réaffectés à d’autres armes. Toutefois, on constitue une unité blindée en 1936. En effet, l’Ordonnance générale 188/36 permet la création le 15 décembre 1936, à Windsor, en Ontario, de l’un des six bataillons d’infanterie : l’Essex Regiment (chars). Ce régiment est la première unité de l’Armée canadienne à porter le béret noir, associé depuis 1924 aux soldats du Corps blindé royal de l’armée britannique (British Royal Armoured Corps). En septembre 1940, on ordonne à l’Essex Regiment (chars) de suspendre ses activités, si bien que le régiment n’a jamais été déployé en tant qu’unité. On offre aux militaires la possibilité de s’enrôler de nouveau dans le régiment comme tel ou de se joindre à une autre unité. La moitié d’entre eux retournent au sein du régiment, alors que les autres choisissent de joindre les rangs de l’escadron de commandement et des services de la 1re Brigade de chars de l’Armée canadienne, sous la direction du Brigadier FF Worthington, MC, MM. Le 27 janvier 1942, l’Essex Regiment (chars) est renommé 30th (Reserve) Reconnaissance Regiment (Essex Regiment), en conservant, entre parenthèses, le nom originel du régiment pour des « raisons sentimentales ». En 1949, le régiment prend son nom actuel : le Windsor Regiment (RCAC).

Durant les années 1950, le Windsor Regiment envoie constamment des volontaires grossir les rangs des forces combattant à la guerre de Corée. Le 25 mai 1951, le régiment s’allie à un régiment de reconnaissance de la Grande-Bretagne, les 3rd Carabineers, qui prendront le nom de Royal Scots Dragoon Guards en 1971. En 1954, le Windsor Regiment reprend son rôle de régiment blindé : il reçoit les chars d’assaut Sherman de modèle M4A2E8 et ses membres suivent un entraînement au Camp Petawawa et au Camp Meaford où ils apprennent notamment à se servir des canons et à les entretenir. En raison de l’alternance des rôles du régiment, on hésite longtemps entre les couleurs de l’infanterie et le guidon de cavalerie. Le régiment reçoit finalement le guidon des mains du Lieutenant­gouverneur de l’Ontario, W. Earl Rowe, en 1963. À partir du 1er mars 1965, le régiment reprend son rôle de reconnaissance. Au cours des années 1970, il appuie diverses opérations, notamment les Jeux olympiques à Montréal, les programmes de milice pour les étudiants, l’Op Butane menée pour porter secours aux résidents du sud­ouest de l’Ontario lors des violentes tempêtes hivernales, l’envoi d’une troupe de reconnaissance en Allemagne pour prendre part à un exercice avec le Royal Canadian Dragoons (RCD) en 1978. 

En septembre 1979, le Windsor Regiment redevient un régiment blindé et s’entraîne, en 1980 et 1981, avec le véhicule blindé Cougar, manoeuvré par une équipe de trois personnes. L’entraînement est réparti en conduite, entretien, artillerie et tactique des véhicules blindés. Bien que les Cougar soient considérés avant tout comme des véhicules d’entraînement, ils seront utilisés pendant les conflits en Bosnie­Herzégovine et en Somalie. Le régiment remporte au début des années 1990 le trophée Worthington décerné au meilleur régiment blindé et, pour la neuvième et la dixième fois, le trophée Cumberland, une preuve de la grande qualité de son entraînement. Le régiment enverra deux troupes au Cambodge et sept en Bosnie­Herzégovine pour appuyer les opérations de la Force régulière. Le régiment reprend son rôle de reconnaissance en 1997. En 2011, plus de deux douzaines de membres du régiment avaient participé aux opérations du Canada en Afghanistan.

Date de modification :