The West Nova Scotia Regiment

Unit Identification

The West Nova Scotia Regiment Badge

SEMPER FIDELIS - ALWAYS FAITHFUL

Location

The West Nova Scotia Regiment
Camp Aldershot - Building 209
1400 Lanzy Road
Aldershot, NS
B4N 4H8
_____

The West Nova Scotia Regiment

The West Nova Scotia Regiment, Camp Aldershot - Building 209

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: : Sergeant D.M. Morse
Phone: 902-678-7930, Ext. 2121
Email: david.morse2@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Find a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

We train from September to June on Thursday evenings (7:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.) and one weekend per month.

From May to August, full-time summer employment is available.

Where we train:
- Windsor, NS
- Aldershot, NS
- Middleton, NS
- Bridgetown, NS

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

 Vehicles:

Weapons:

 
See a complete list of Vehicles and Weapons.

Who We Are

The West Nova Scotia Regiment is a Primary Reserve infantry regiment of the Canadian Armed Forces. It has seen active service in both the Great War and World War II. The Regiment headquarters is located at 5th Canadian Division Training Centre Aldershot, north of Kentville, Nova Scotia.

As a member of an infantry platoon you will become a member of a cohesive group. You will learn how to professionally operate and maintain various types of weapons and equipment. In addition, other training may include Field Communication, Machine Gunner, Driver and Leadership courses. Also, you will learn field craft and battle procedures including, camouflage and concealment, internal security, patrolling, escape and evasion tactics, and also how to safely use explosives and pyrotechnics, communication and navigation systems.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer - Lieutenant-Colonel K.F. Butterworth, OMM, MSM, CD
  • Regimental Sergeant-Major - Chief Warrant Officer B.P. Rogers, CD

Contact Us

The West Nova Scotia Regiment
Camp Aldershot
Building 209
1400 Lanzy Road
Aldershot, NS
B4N 4H8

Phone: 902-678-7930, Ext. 2121
Email: david.morse2@forces.gc.ca

News

Sergeant  Rodney Tatchell serving as part of the Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART)

Gagetown units are a different kind of busy

Oromocto, New Brunswick — Captain Matt Bernhardt has a good mental snapshot to illustrate the pace of life within his unit, 4 Artillery Regiment (General Support) Royal Canadian Artillery [4 Regt (GS)]: “Between July and December of last year, I was not home for more than about two weeks at a time. My last water bill was $15.”
June 6, 2018

Firefighters from 5th Canadian Division

Gagetown forest management team reduces fire risks

Oromocto, New Brunswick — Residents of Oromocto, New Brunswick were understandably alarmed when, in the fall of 2017, three separate fires burned over 1,200 hectares of the  Range and Training Area (RTA) at nearby 5th Canadian Division Support Base Gagetown (5 CDSB).
June 1, 2018

Captain Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja, Ukraine headquarters in Starychi

Infantry captain’s roots run through his regiment and back to India

Hamilton, Ontario — Captain Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja’s South Asian heritage means a lot to him. It has also provided him with context and a sense of pride in his role with the Canadian Army Reserve (ARes).
May 28, 2018

See more news

 Our History

The West Nova Scotia Regiment (West NSR) is one of the oldest regiments on the Canadian Militia List. The Regiment was formed from both the 69th Annapolis Regiment (1717), and the 75th Lunenburg Regiment, (1870) in 1936. Both regiments descended from the 40th Regiment of Foot, the Prince of wales Volunteers, which was raised on the 23rd of August, 1717 at Fort Anne, Annapolis Royal, NS.

When World War II broke out on the 1st day of September 1939, the West NSR was mobilized as an active service force battalion. The active service battalion left Halifax and disembarked at Gourock, Scotland shortly after Christmas in 1939; they immediately entrained for Aldershot, England. On June 15, 1943 the regiment embarked from England, in the first part of "Operation Husky" the invasion of Sicily. The West Nova Scotia Regiment was the first allied unit to land and stay on the continent of Eurcpe for the entire duration of the war.

The Regiment continued to fight in Italy until February 9, 1945, when LCol Hiltz received orders informing him that the ist Canadian Corps would be transferred from Italy to Northwest Europe. The Regiment moved to Marseilles, France, by sea and arrived in Holland until the German surrender on May 5, 1945. During this time the Regiment won twenty six theatre and battle honours, in addition to the Distinguished Service Order, the Military Cross, Distinguished Conduct Medal and many others. From Sicily to Holland there are 352 graves of West Novas who paid the final sacrifice during the war. There were also 1084 wounded and missing.

Since World War II the West Nova Scotia Regiment has been a unit of the Canadian Armed Force - reserves. it has contributed soldiers to UN peace keeping tours in countries such as the former Yugoslavia, Cyprus and the Middle East, and recently it has deployed soldiers to Afghanistan.

Date modified:

The West Nova Scotia Regiment

Identification de l’unité

SEMPER FIDELIS - Toujours fidèle

Liens connexes

Endroit

The West Nova Scotia Regiment
Camp Aldershot, Bâtiment 209
1400 Lanzy Road
Aldershot, NS
B4N 4H8
_____

The West Nova Scotia Regiment

The West Nova Scotia Regiment, Camp Aldershot, Bâtiment 209

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’information. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre Curriculum Vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Sergent D.M. Morse
Téléphone : 902-678-7930, Ext. 2121
Courriel : david.morse2@forces.gc.ca

Ou 

Téléphone: 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous. 

Entraînement

Nous nous entraînons les jeudi soirs de 19 h à 22 h, et une fin de semaine par mois.

De mai à août, des emplois d’été à temps plein sont offerts.

Nous nous entraînons à ces endroits:
- Windsor, NS
- Aldershot, NS
- Middleton, NS
- Bridgetown, NS

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Véhicules :

Armes :

Voir la liste complète des armes et véhicules.

Qui nous sommes

The West Nova Scotia Regiment est un régiment de la Première réserve des Forces armées canadiennes. Il a participé à la Première et Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Le quartier général du Régiment se trouve au Centre d’instruction de la 5e Division du Canada Aldershot, au nord de Kentville, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

À titre de membre d’un peloton d’infanterie, vous ferez partie d’un groupe où il existe une belle cohésion. Vous apprendrez comment faire fonctionner et entretenir de manière professionnelle différents types d’armes et d’équipement. Vous pourrez suivre de l’instruction sur les communications de campagne et des cours permettant de devenir mitrailleur, conducteur ou de vous préparer à un poste de commandement. De plus, vous apprendrez les techniques de campagne et les procédures de combat, y compris le camouflage, la dissimulation, la sécurité interne, la tenue de patrouille, les tactiques de fuite et d’évasion et aussi l’utilisation sécuritaire des explosifs et des artifices, de même que des systèmes de communication et de navigation.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant - Lieutenant-colonel K.F. Butterworth, OMM, MSM, CD
  • Sergent-major regimentaire - Adjudant-chef B.P. Rogers, CD

Contactez-nous

The West Nova Scotia Regiment
Camp Aldershot - Bâtiment 209
1400 Lanzy Road
Aldershot, NS
B4N 4H8

Téléphone :  902-678-7930 Ext. 2121
Courriel : david.morse2@forces.gc.ca

Nouvelles

Le sergent Rodney Tatchell, ), section du génie de l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC), contribue à améliorer la qualité de vie des résidents de Jacmel

Unités de Gagetown : plus occupées que jamais

Oromocto (Nouveau-Brunswick) — Cette anecdote du capitaine Matt Bernhardt illustre bien le rythme des activités à son unité, le 4e Régiment d’artillerie (Appui général), Artillerie royale canadienne (4 Régt [AG]) : « De juillet à décembre l’an dernier, je n’ai pas été à la maison pendant plus de deux semaines consécutives. Ma dernière facture d’eau s’élevait à 15 $. »
Le 6 juin 2018

Des pompiers de la 5e Division du Canada

L’équipe de l’aménagement forestier de Gagetown réduit les risques d’incendie

Oromocto, Nouveau-Brunswick — Les résidents d’Oromocto, au Nouveau-Brunswick, ont angoissé, à juste titre, à l’automne 2017 lorsque trois foyers d’incendie ont ravagé plus de 1 200 hectares du champ de tir et secteur d’entraînement (CTSE) près de la Base de soutien de la 5e Division du Canada Gagetown (BS 5 Div CA).
Le 1 juin 2018

le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja, Ukraine, à Starychi (Ukraine)

Les racines d’un capitaine d’infanterie partent de son régiment et s’étendent jusqu’en Inde

Hamilton (Ontario) — Le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja accorde beaucoup d’importance à ses origines sud-asiatiques. Ces dernières lui servent de base de référence et lui procurent un sentiment de fierté dans le cadre de son rôle dans la Réserve de l’Armée canadienne (Rés AC).
Le 28 mai 2018

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre Histoire

The West Nova Scotia Regiment a été formé en 1936 à partir de deux des plus anciens régiments de la Milice du Canada : le 69th Annapolis Regiment (1717) et le 75th Lunenburg Regiment (1870). Les deux régiments sont issus du 40th Regiment of Foot, the Prince of Wales Volunteers, qui a été mis en place le 23 août 1717 à Fort Anne, Annapolis Royal (N.-É.).

Lorsque la Seconde Guerre mondiale a éclaté le 1er septembre 1939, le West NSR a été mobilisé en tant que bataillon de l’armée active. Il a quitté Halifax et a débarqué à Gourock (Écosse) peu après Noël 1939, où il a immédiatement pris le train pour Aldershot (Angleterre). Le 15 juin 1943, le régiment a quitté l’Angleterre et a participé à l’invasion de la Sicile, première vague de l’opération Husky. Le West Nova Scotia Regiment a été la première unité des forces alliées à débarquer en Europe et il y est demeuré pour toute la durée de la guerre.

Le régiment a continué à lutter en Italie jusqu’au 9 février 1945, lorsque le Lcol Hiltz reçoit la dépêche l’informant du transfert du 1er Corps canadien en Europe du Nord­Ouest. Le régiment a quitté Marseille en navire et a débarqué en Hollande où il est demeuré jusqu’à la capitulation de l’Allemagne le 5 mai 1945. Pendant ce temps, le régiment a remporté 26 théâtres et honneurs de guerre en plus de l’Ordre du service distingué, la Croix militaire, la Médaille de conduite distinguée et plusieurs autres. Sur le chemin de la Sicile jusqu’à la Hollande, on retrouve les tombes de 352 membres du West Nova Scotia Regiment ayant sacrifié leur vie lors de cette guerre; 1 084 ont été blessés ou portés disparus. 

Depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le West Nova Scotia Regiment est une unité de la Réserve de l’Armée canadienne. Il détache des soldats aux opérations de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies dans des pays comme l’ex-Yougoslavie, Chypre et le Moyen­Orient. Ses soldats ont suivi une instruction continue individuelle et en unité dans les bases partout au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Grande-Bretagne.

Date de modification :