The Royal Regiment of Canada

Badge and Motto

The Royal Regiment of Canada crest

READY AYE READY

NEC ASPERA TERRENT

"And difficulties do not daunt"

Who We Are

The Royal Regiment of Canada is an Infantry Regiment located at Fort York Armoury in Toronto. The Regiment is part of 32 Canadian Brigade Group, a Primary Reserve formation of the Canadian Army.

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Email: 32cbgrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Phone: 416-203-4600 ext 4672

Unit Parade Night: Thursday evenings 7:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Related Links

Command Team

Commander: Lieutenant-Colonel Joseph A. Nonato

Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer Vishnu Persaud

Our History

The Royal Regiment of Canada is an infantry unit, part of Canada’s Army Reserve. It was formed in 1936 as the result of the amalgamation of two famed reserve units, The Royal Grenadiers, and the Toronto Regiment. Located in Toronto Ontario, it is one of the oldest army regiments in the Canadian Forces and traces its roots to 1862 when a regiment of volunteers was formed and named the 10th Battalion of the Royal Grenadiers. In response to a perceived threat of an American invasion, the Regiment was first called out in June 1866. It marched to Fort Erie, Ontario to meet the Fenian-Americans who were threatening to invade Canada from the south. The Fenians withdrew before the Regiment arrived and the Regiment reverted to its part-time reserve status.

The Regiment was again called out by the Federal government to help quell the Métis insurgents during the Northwest Rebellion of 1885. After an arduous and punishing 1300 kilometre westward march during a harsh winter, it arrived at Batoche, Saskatchewan where it led a bayonet charge that captured the Métis leader Louis Riel. The Rebellion ended, and after a trial, Riel was hanged for treason. Over a century later, Riel is now honoured as a Father of Confederation and Manitoba has declared a public holiday in his honour.

Read more of our history.

The Band of The Royal Regiment of Canada

Established in 1863, the Band of the Royal Regiment of Canada is the oldest permanently organized band in the Canadian Forces and is based at Fort York Armoury in Toronto. The Band provides ceremonial support to the Canadian Forces through its many ensembles - a colourful marching band, a concert band, a jazz ensemble, a swing orchestra, a brass quintet, and a fanfare trumpet quartet.

Read more of our band history.

Equipment

For information about the vehicles and weapons used by the Canadian Army visit our Equipment page.

Contact Us

The Royal Regiment Of Canada
Fort York Armoury
660 Fleet W., Room #136
Toronto, ON M5V 1A9

Telephone: 416-203-4607

Hours of Operations

Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Date modified:

Le Régiment Royal du Canada

Unit Identification

Insigne du The Royal Regiment of Canada

READY AYE READY

« Prêt oui prêt »

NEC ASPERA TERRENT

« Et les difficultés ne font pas peur »

Qui nous sommes

Le régiment Royal du Canada est un régiment d’infanterie basé au manège militaire de Fort York, à Toronto. Le Régiment fait partie du 32e Groupe-brigade du Canada, une formation de la Première réserve de l’Armée de terre canadienne.

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’informations! Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre curriculum vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Courriel : 32cbgrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Téléphone : 416-203-4600 poste 4672

Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité : jeudi soir de 19 h 30 à 22 h 30.

Liens connexes

Équipe de commandement

Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Joseph A. Nonato

Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef Vishnu Persaud

Notre histoire

Le The Royal Regiment of Canada (le Régiment) est une unité d’infanterie de la Réserve de l’Armée de terre. Il a été formé en 1936 par la fusion de deux unités fameuses de la Réserve, The Royal Grenadiers et le Toronto Regiment. Basé à Toronto, en Ontario, il est l’un des plus anciens régiments de l’Armée de terre au sein des Forces canadiennes puisque ses origines remontent à 1862, lorsqu’un régiment de volontaires a été levé et nommé le 10e Bataillon des Royal Grenadiers. En réaction à une menace perçue d’invasion des Américains, le Régiment a été appelé en service pour la première fois en juin 1866. Il a alors marché jusqu’à Fort Erie, en Ontario, à la rencontre des féniens américains qui menaçaient d’envahir le Canada depuis le sud. Les féniens ont battu en retraite avant que le Régiment n’arrive et ce dernier a donc repris son statut de régiment à temps partiel de la Réserve.

Il a de nouveau été appelé en service par le gouvernement fédéral pour réprimer les insurgés métis durant la rébellion du Nord-Ouest, en 1885. Après une dure et éprouvante marche de 1300 kilomètres vers l’ouest durant un hiver rigoureux, le Régiment est arrivé à Batoche, en Saskatchewan, où il a pris la tête d’une charge à la baïonnette qui a permis de capturer le chef métis, Louis Riel. La rébellion a pris fin et Louis Riel a été pendu après un procès. Plus d’un siècle plus tard, Riel est maintenant honoré comme un père de la confédération et le Manitoba a déclaré un jour férié en son honneur.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

La musique du The Royal Regiment of Canada

Établie en 1863, la musique du The Royal Regiment of Canada (la Musique) est la plus vieille musique permanente des Forces canadiennes; elle est basée au manège militaire de Fort York, à Toronto. La Musique offre un soutien musical aux cérémonies des Forces canadiennes grâce à ses nombreux ensembles – une fanfare colorée, une harmonie, un groupe de jazz, un orchestre de danse, un quintette de cuivres et un quatuor de trompettes héraldiques.

Lire la suite de notre musique.

Équipement

Pour des informations sur les véhicules et les armes utilisés par l'Armée canadienne, visitez notre page d'équipement.

Contactez-nous

The Royal Regiment Of Canada
Manège militaire Fort York
660 Fleet W., Chambre #136
Toronto, ON M5V 1A9

Téléphone : (416)-203-4607

Heures de bureau

Du lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 16 h.

Date de modification :