The Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada

Unit Identification

The Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada crest

DEFENCE NOT DEFIANCE

Colonel J.A. McIntosh DSO, ED, Armoury

Colonel J.A. McIntosh DSO, ED, Armoury, 1 Valour Place, Cambridge, ON  N1R 3P1

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Sgt Derek Roberts
Phone: 226-989-7301
Email: Derek.Roberts2@forces.gc.ca

Or

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Contact a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

Unit Parade Night: Thursday evenings (Sept-Jun): 7:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Who We Are

The Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada is a Reserve unit from the Canadian Forces 31 Canadian Brigade Group. With companies in Cambridge and Kitchener, the unit is a unique element of the Canadian Forces, whose task is to augment Canada’s military by providing Primary Reserve Infantry soldiers.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commander: Commander: Lieutenant-Colonel Mark Poland, CD
  • Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer Mike Coit

Contact Us

The Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada
Colonel J.A. McIntosh DSO, ED, Armoury
1 Valour Place
Cambridge, ON
N1R 3P1

Phone: 519-740-2213

News

Chief Warrant Officer Tracy-Ann Fisher

Chief Warrant Officer Tracy-Ann Fisher on the Army Communication and Information Systems Specialist trade

Ottawa, Ontario — Long gone are the days of the carrier pigeon. Today’s Army Communication and Information Systems Specialists (ACISS) use cutting-edge technology to ensure functional wired and wireless communication for the Canadian Army (CA).
August 10, 2018

Collective training during Exercise FROZEN GUNNER

Teamwork: Regular and Reserve Force artillery units train together

Shilo, Manitoba — I have been on several gun exercises throughout my career, but this was the first time I was going to see the “big guns” in action.
June 4, 2018

Firefighters from 5th Canadian Division

Gagetown forest management team reduces fire risks

Oromocto, New Brunswick — Residents of Oromocto, New Brunswick were understandably alarmed when, in the fall of 2017, three separate fires burned over 1,200 hectares of the  Range and Training Area (RTA) at nearby 5th Canadian Division Support Base Gagetown (5 CDSB).
June 1, 2018

See more news

Our History

One of Canada’s oldest infantry regiments, the Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada became part of the fabric of Waterloo Region when a company of unarmed Mennonite teamsters hauled supplies during the War of 1812. During the First World War, 3,763 volunteers from Waterloo County served in the regiment, more than 100 of whom were decorated for valour. Early in the War the unit was separated into two regiments and renamed the 29th Waterloo (Galt) and the 108th (Kitchener). In 1915 they re-merged and became three battalions of the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF), the 34th, 111th and 118th.

Post war, separation again occurred with the Galt members becoming the Highland Light Infantry of Canada (HLI of C); the Kitchener-Waterloo members became the North Waterloo Regiment, and later, the Scots Fusiliers of Canada (SF of C). In 1940, the HLI of C mobilized for the Second World War and the Scots Fusiliers were integrated into the regiment. On D-Day, June 6, 1944, the HLI of C landed on Juno Beach, Normandy. On July 8th, the HLI of C led a successful but most bloody operation in capturing the Normandy village of Buron. Of the unit’s 600 members taking part in the fierce day-long battle, 193 were wounded and 70 were killed or subsequently died of their wounds.

During the two World Wars, the HLI of C was awarded 28 battle honours of which 18 are emblazoned on the unit’s Regimental Colours. After the Second World War ended, the K-W members were reformed as the 54th LAA Regiment and, in 1956, they regained their formed identity as the SF of C. In 1964, the SF of C and HLI of C again merged to form the Highland Fusiliers of Canada (HF of C). In 1998, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, granted the HF of C the right to her “Royal” designation in recognition of the Regiment’s long and distinguished service to the Commonwealth, Canada and the community of Waterloo Region. The Regiment and its soldiers have continued to serve Canada’s interests worldwide in peace support operations including Egypt, Cyprus, Cambodia, Namibia, the former Republic of Yugoslavia and, most recently, Afghanistan and Darfur.

Date modified:

The Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada

Défense et non défiance

Manège militaire Colonel J.A. McIntosh, OEM, ED

Manège militaire Colonel J.A. McIntosh, OEM, ED, 1, Valour Place, Cambridge, ON  N1R 3P1

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’informations. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre curriculum vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité : jeudi soir (de septembre à juin), de 19 h 30 à 22 h 30.

Qui nous sommes

The Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada est une unité de la Réserve qui fait partie du 31e Groupe-brigade du Canada des Forces canadiennes et qui dispose de compagnies à Cambridge et à Kitchener. L’unité est un élément unique des Forces canadiennes et son mandat est de renforcer l’effectif des Forces canadiennes en fournissant des fantassins de la Première Réserve.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Mark Poland, CD
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef Jonathan Kisslinger, CD

Contactez-nous

The Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada
Manège militaire Colonel J.A. McIntosh, OEM, ED
1, Valour Place
Cambridge, ON
N1R 3P1

Téléphone : 519-740-2213

Nouvelles

Instruction collective durant l’exercice FROZEN GUNNER

Des unités de la Régulière et de la Réserve s’entrainent ensemble

Shilo (Manitoba) — J’ai participé à plusieurs exercices de tir au canon durant ma carrière, mais c’était la première fois que j’allais voir les « gros canons » à l’œuvre.
Le 4 juin 2018

Des pompiers de la 5e Division du Canada

L’équipe de l’aménagement forestier de Gagetown réduit les risques d’incendie

Oromocto, Nouveau-Brunswick — Les résidents d’Oromocto, au Nouveau-Brunswick, ont angoissé, à juste titre, à l’automne 2017 lorsque trois foyers d’incendie ont ravagé plus de 1 200 hectares du champ de tir et secteur d’entraînement (CTSE) près de la Base de soutien de la 5e Division du Canada Gagetown (BS 5 Div CA).
Le 1 juin 2018

le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja, Ukraine, à Starychi (Ukraine)

Les racines d’un capitaine d’infanterie partent de son régiment et s’étendent jusqu’en Inde

Hamilton (Ontario) — Le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja accorde beaucoup d’importance à ses origines sud-asiatiques. Ces dernières lui servent de base de référence et lui procurent un sentiment de fierté dans le cadre de son rôle dans la Réserve de l’Armée canadienne (Rés AC).
Le 28 mai 2018

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

Le Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada (RHFC) est l’un des plus anciens régiments d’infanterie du Canada et fait partie intégrante de l’histoire de la région de Waterloo. Les origines du régiment remontent à la guerre de 1812, lorsque des mennonites se regroupent en compagnie, non armée, pour assurer le transport des approvisionnements. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, 3 763 résidents du comté de Waterloo se portent volontaires pour servir au sein du régiment : plus d’une centaine d’entre eux seront décorés pour leur vaillance. Au début de la guerre, l’unité est divisée en deux régiments : le 29th Waterloo Regiment (Galt) et le 108th Regiment (Kitchener). Ces deux régiments fusionnent de nouveau en 1915, pour former les trois bataillons du Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) : le 34th Battalion, le 111th Battalion et le 118th Battalion.

Après la guerre, on divise de nouveau l’unité : les membres du régiment de Galt prennent le nom de « Highland Light Infantry of Canada (HLIC) », alors que le régiment de Kitchener­Waterloo est rebaptisé « North Waterloo Regiment », puis, plus tard « Scots Fusiliers of Canada (SF of C) ». En 1940, le HLIC est mobilisé pour la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et intègre le SC of F. Le Jour « J », le 6 juin 1944, le HLIC débarque à Juno, en Normandie. Le 8 juillet, il mène une opération couronnée de succès, mais fort sanglante : la capture du village de Buron, en Normandie. Quelque six cents militaires de l’unité prennent part à cette bataille féroce. Au cours de cette unique journée, 193 soldats sont blessés et 70 perdent la vie (durant la bataille ou plus tard, des suites de leurs blessures).

Le HLIC reçoit 28 honneurs de guerre pendant la Première Guerre mondiale et la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Dix­huit de ces honneurs sont intégrés à ses drapeaux régimentaires. À la fin de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, le régiment Kitchener-Waterloo est rebaptisé « 54th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment », puis reprend le nom « Scots Fusiliers of Canada (SF of C) » en 1956. En 1964, les régiments SF of C et HLIC fusionnent de nouveau pour former le « Highland Fusiliers of Canada (HF of C) ». En 1998, Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II accorde au HF of C le droit d’utiliser le qualificatif « royal » en reconnaissance des longs et loyaux services que ce régiment a rendus au Commonwealth, au Canada et à la communauté de la région de Waterloo. Le régiment continue de servir les intérêts du Canada partout au monde, en participant à des opérations de soutien de la paix en Égypte, à Chypre, au Cambodge, en Namibie, en ex­Yougoslavie et, plus récemment, en Afghanistan et au Darfour.

Date de modification :