The Queen's York Rangers (1st American Regiment) (RCAC)

Unit Identification

The Queen's York Rangers crest

PRISTINAE VIRTUTIS MEMORES

"Mindful of our ancient valour"

Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Phone: 416-200-ARMY (2769)
Email: 32CBGrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Contact a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

Unit Parade Night: Wednesday Nights 7 p.m. – 10:30 p.m.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Weapons:

Vehicles:

See a complete list of Weapons and Vehicles.

Who We Are

The Queen's York Rangers is a reserve armoured reconnaissance regiment with squadrons in Toronto and Aurora. As recce, the Regiment scouts the advance, provides screens and observation posts, escorts convoys, and has a Quick Reaction Force to deal with threats. The Regiment conducts reconnaissance both mounted in vehicles and dismounted on foot.

The Rangers traces its history back to the Seven Years War when Robert Rogers raised the Queen’s Rangers to defend British North America against the French and their Indigenous Allies in the 1750s. The Rangers also fought against the Americans during the War of Independence, defeating General George Washington at the Battle of Brandywine in 1777. Later, the unit founded Toronto (1790s) and fought alongside Indigenous Allies in the War of 1812. The Rangers also deployed during the North West Rebellion (1880s) and The Great War (1914-18).

More recently, the Regiment has deployed members on many Canadian Armed Forces overseas missions including Former Yugoslavia, Rwanda, Afghanistan and Iraq.

The Queen’s York Rangers endeavour to establish deeper ties to the large Indigenous community in Toronto. The Regiment is looking for bold and intelligent men and women of all backgrounds to join their ranks.

Celer et Audax

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer: Lieutenant Colonel Eric Thorson, CD
  • Regimental Sergeant Major: Master Warrant Officer Frank Atyeo, CD

Contact Us

Toronto

The Queen's York Rangers
Canadian Forces Armoury Fort York
660 Fleet Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 1A9

Phone: 416-203-4642

York Region

The Queen's York Rangers
Lieutenant-General, The Honourable John Graves Simcoe Armoury
215 Industrial Parkway South
Aurora, ON
L4G 3T9

Phone: 905-841-6655, Ext. 7813

News

Chief Warrant Officer Tracy-Ann Fisher

Chief Warrant Officer Tracy-Ann Fisher on the Army Communication and Information Systems Specialist trade

Ottawa, Ontario — Long gone are the days of the carrier pigeon. Today’s Army Communication and Information Systems Specialists (ACISS) use cutting-edge technology to ensure functional wired and wireless communication for the Canadian Army (CA).
August 10, 2018

Collective training during Exercise FROZEN GUNNER

Teamwork: Regular and Reserve Force artillery units train together

Shilo, Manitoba — I have been on several gun exercises throughout my career, but this was the first time I was going to see the “big guns” in action.
June 4, 2018

Firefighters from 5th Canadian Division

Gagetown forest management team reduces fire risks

Oromocto, New Brunswick — Residents of Oromocto, New Brunswick were understandably alarmed when, in the fall of 2017, three separate fires burned over 1,200 hectares of the  Range and Training Area (RTA) at nearby 5th Canadian Division Support Base Gagetown (5 CDSB).
June 1, 2018

See more news

Our History

The story of the Queen's York Rangers begins in the remote days of the Seven Years War, when companies raised by Robert Rogers served the British in raids along the frontiers of French Canada. Trained in woodcraft, scouting, and irregular warfare, units like Rogers' Rangers finally gave the red-coated British regulars an effective weapon against the guerrilla tactics of French-Canadian habitants and their Indian allies, enabling them to beat the enemy at his own game.

Raised anew among British Loyalists for the American War of Independence, renamed the Queen’s Rangers and now including five troops of cavalry, the green-clad Rangers fought on the side of those loyal to the British Crown. Under the command of John Graves Simcoe, the regiment fought in almost every theatre of war and earned, as the premier Loyalist unit, the title 1st American Regiment. They were never defeated in battle but obliged to join the final British surrender at Yorktown in 1781. The regiment’s colours from this period are now proudly on display in the unit's officers' mess.

Read more of our history.

Date modified:

The Queen's York Rangers (1st American Regiment) (RCAC)

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du The Queen's York Rangers

PRISTINAE VIRTUTIS MEMORES

« Nous souvenant de notre valeur ancienne »

Réserve de l'Armée

Graphique : Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’informations. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre curriculum vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Téléphone : 416-200-ARMY (2769)
Courriel : 32CBGrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité : mercredi soir de 19 h à 22h30.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes:

Véhicules:

Voir la liste complète des armes et véhicules.

Qui nous sommes

The Queen's York Rangers est un régiment de reconnaissance blindé de la Réseve comptant des escadrons à Toronto et à Aurora. Il a pour mission d’éclairer la progression, de fournir des écrans et des postes d’observation, d’escorter des convois et de déployer sa force d’intervention rapide pour contrer les menaces. Le régiment effectue ses tâches de reconnaissance en véhicule ou en mode débarqué (à pied).

Les origines du régiment remontent à la guerre de Sept Ans, lorsque Robert Rogers a mis sur pied les Queen’s Rangers pour défendre l’Amérique du Nord britannique contre les Français et leurs alliés autochtones dans les années 1750. Ces Rangers ont aussi combattu contre les Américains durant la guerre d’indépendance, remportant la bataille de Brandywine contre le général George Washington en 1777. Plus tard, l’unité a fondé ce qui allait devenir la ville de Toronto (années 1790), et a combattu aux côtés d’alliés autochtones durant la guerre de 1812. Les Queen’s Rangers se sont également déployés lors de la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest (années 1880) et de la Grande Guerre (1914-1918).

Plus récemment, le régiment a envoyé des soldats dans le cadre de différentes missions des Forces armées canadiennes à l’étranger, y compris en Ex-Yougoslavie, au Rwanda, en Afghanistan et en Iraq.

The Queen’s York Rangers s’efforce de créer des liens profonds avec la grande communauté autochtone de Toronto. Il est à la recherche d’hommes et de femmes de tous les milieux, qui savent faire preuve d’intelligence et d’audace.

 Celer et Audax

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Eric Thorson, CD
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant-maître Frank Atyeo, CD

Contactez Nous

Toronto

The Queen's York Rangers
Manège des Forces canadiennes Fort York
660 Fleet Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 1A9

Téléphone : 416-203-4642

Région de York

The Queen's York Rangers
Manège militaire Lieutenant-général l’honorable John Graves Simcoe
215 Industrial Parkway South
Aurora, ON
L4G 3T9

Téléphone : 905-841-6655, Ext. 7813

Nouvelles

Instruction collective durant l’exercice FROZEN GUNNER

Des unités de la Régulière et de la Réserve s’entrainent ensemble

Shilo (Manitoba) — J’ai participé à plusieurs exercices de tir au canon durant ma carrière, mais c’était la première fois que j’allais voir les « gros canons » à l’œuvre.
Le 4 juin 2018

Des pompiers de la 5e Division du Canada

L’équipe de l’aménagement forestier de Gagetown réduit les risques d’incendie

Oromocto, Nouveau-Brunswick — Les résidents d’Oromocto, au Nouveau-Brunswick, ont angoissé, à juste titre, à l’automne 2017 lorsque trois foyers d’incendie ont ravagé plus de 1 200 hectares du champ de tir et secteur d’entraînement (CTSE) près de la Base de soutien de la 5e Division du Canada Gagetown (BS 5 Div CA).
Le 1 juin 2018

le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja, Ukraine, à Starychi (Ukraine)

Les racines d’un capitaine d’infanterie partent de son régiment et s’étendent jusqu’en Inde

Hamilton (Ontario) — Le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja accorde beaucoup d’importance à ses origines sud-asiatiques. Ces dernières lui servent de base de référence et lui procurent un sentiment de fierté dans le cadre de son rôle dans la Réserve de l’Armée canadienne (Rés AC).
Le 28 mai 2018

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

L'histoire du Queen's York Rangers remonte à l'époque de la guerre de Sept Ans, alors que des compagnies mises sur pied par Robert Rogers combattaient aux côtés des troupes britanniques dans des raids le long de la frontière du Canada français. Formées au combat en forêt, à la reconnaissance et à la guerre irrégulière, les unités comme les Rangers de Rogers ont finalement donné aux troupes régulières britanniques, les « habits rouges », des munitions efficaces pour s’opposer aux tactiques de guérilla adoptées par les Canadiens-français et leurs alliés autochtones, ce qui a permis de les battre sur leur propre terrain.

L’unité a été formée à nouveau avec des Loyalistes britanniques dans le cadre de la Guerre d'indépendance des États-Unis et rebaptisée les Queen's Rangers. Elle comptait alors cinq troupes de cavalerie. Les Rangers, à la tenue verte, ont combattu les Révolutionnaires américains aux côtés des personnes restées fidèles à la Couronne britannique. Sous les ordres de John Graves Simcoe, le Régiment s’est battu dans presque tous les théâtres d'opérations de la guerre et a obtenu, comme première unité loyaliste, le titre de 1st American Regiment. Ils sont demeurés invaincus lors des combats, mais ont dû se joindre au reste des troupes britanniques lors de la capitulation finale à Yorktown en 1781. Le drapeau du Régiment de cette époque est aujourd’hui fièrement exposé au mess des officiers de l’unité.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

Date de modification :