The Queen's Own Rifles of Canada

Unit Identification

The Queen's Own Rifles crest

IN PACE PARATUS

“Prepared in Peace”

Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Sgt Mena Ghattas
Phone: 416-635-2761
Email: Mena.Ghattas@forces.gc.ca

or

Phone: 416-200-ARMY (2769)
Email: 32CBGrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Contact a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

Unit Parade Night: Wednesday evenings: 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Weapons:

See a complete list of Weapons and Vehicles.

Who We Are

The Queen's Own Rifles of Canada (QOR of C) is a Primary Army Reserve infantry regiment based in Toronto.  Founded on April 26 1860, it is the oldest continuously serving infantry regiment in Canada.

On the battlefield, “Rifles” are known for their ability to move quickly on foot and unburdened by heavy equipment.  Members of “Rifles” regiments are light infantry and are known as “Riflemen”.  They are characterized by their ability to apply “Rifleman’s” initiative, expert marksmanship and small unit tactics.

The Queen's Own Rifles of Canada has taken part in every Canadian military campaign, and served with great distinction in World War I and World War II in which 7 Riflemen were awarded the Victoria Cross.  Over the past 30 years The QOR of C has provided personnel to support disaster relief in Ontario, Quebec and Manitoba.  Riflemen have also served on Expeditionary Operations in Afghanistan, Bosnia Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Iraq, Namibia, Somalia and Sudan. 

 The QOR of C is the Primary Reserve unit in Canada that is assigned the task of maintaining a Parachute Company. To become a member of the Company, Riflemen must attend specialized parachute training and maintain a high fitness standard. The Parachute Company specializes in conducting Airborne operations in which Riflemen conduct static-line parachuting from an airplane or helicopter with all the equipment required to fight of the battlefield. This is practiced during weekend training exercises. The unit also supports the Royal Canadian Air Force in Trenton when it trains C-130J Hercules Air Crews in parachute operations and the Canadian Army Advanced Warfare Centre (CAAWC) by providing Parachute Packers or Instructors.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer: Lieutenant-Colonel Frank Lamie, CD
  • Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer Donovan O'Halloran, CD

 Contact Us

The Queen's Own Rifles of Canada
Moss Park Armoury
130 Queen Street East
Toronto, ON M5A 1R9
Phone: 416-635-2761

News

Chief Warrant Officer Tracy-Ann Fisher

Chief Warrant Officer Tracy-Ann Fisher on the Army Communication and Information Systems Specialist trade

Ottawa, Ontario — Long gone are the days of the carrier pigeon. Today’s Army Communication and Information Systems Specialists (ACISS) use cutting-edge technology to ensure functional wired and wireless communication for the Canadian Army (CA).
August 10, 2018

Collective training during Exercise FROZEN GUNNER

Teamwork: Regular and Reserve Force artillery units train together

Shilo, Manitoba — I have been on several gun exercises throughout my career, but this was the first time I was going to see the “big guns” in action.
June 4, 2018

Firefighters from 5th Canadian Division

Gagetown forest management team reduces fire risks

Oromocto, New Brunswick — Residents of Oromocto, New Brunswick were understandably alarmed when, in the fall of 2017, three separate fires burned over 1,200 hectares of the  Range and Training Area (RTA) at nearby 5th Canadian Division Support Base Gagetown (5 CDSB).
June 1, 2018

See more news

Our History

The Queen's Own is Canada’s longest continuously serving infantry regiment and one of its most honoured. Founded on April 26th, 1860, the regiment was established by the fusion of six existing rifle companies: Barrie Volunteer Militia Rifle Company; 1st and 3rd Toronto Volunteer Militia Rifle Companies; Toronto Highland Volunteer Rifle Company; Toronto Volunteer Militia Foot Artillery Company, and the Whitby Volunteer Highland Rifle Company. It was formed as the 2nd Battalion, Volunteer Militia Rifles of Canada, a designation which has been perpetuated by the “2” in the regimental cap badge. The 1st Battalion was formed in Montreal and no longer exists. Although they were volunteers, there was no shortage of military expertise. The regiment's first Commanding Officer, Lieutant-Colonel W.S. Durie, was a Sandhurst graduate and British Army veteran; while Capt H. Goodwin, the adjutant, had fought in the Battle of Waterloo as a member of the Royal Horse Artillery.

The Queen's Own has taken part in every Canadian military campaign, sustaining its first casualties - seven killed in action, two dead of wounds and 21 wounded - fighting the Fenians in the Battle of Ridgeway, June 2, 1866. Since then, in the Red River Expedition, Northwest Rebellion, South African War, two World Wars and the Korean War, the regiment had served and fought with great distinction, losing almost 2,000 men in battle and many thousand wounded. Seven of its soldiers have been awarded the Victoria Cross.

Read more of our history.

Date modified:

The Queen's Own Rifles of Canada

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du The Queen's Own Rifles of Canada

IN PACE PARATUS

« Prêts dans la paix »

Emplacement

Manège militaire de Moss Park
130, rue Queen Est
Toronto, ON  M5A 1R9

Reserve de l'Armée

Graphique : Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

Vous cherchez du travail à temps plein ou à temps partiel? Nous embauchons et offrons d'excellentes perspectives de carrière. N'hésitez pas à appeler ou envoyer un courriel à notre recruteur qui se fera un plaisir de répondre à vos questions et de vous indiquer comment vous adresser à notre régiment.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Sgt Mena Ghattas
Téléphone : 416-635-2761
Courriel : qor.recruiting@forces.gc.ca

Téléphone : 416-200-ARMY (2769)
Courriel : 32CBGrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

septembre à juin:

  • mercredi soir
  • 19h30 à 22h30
  • une fin de semaine par mois.

L'emploi d'été à plein temps est disponible de mai à août.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes:

Voir une liste des armes et véhicules de l'Armée canadienne.

Qui nous sommes

The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada (QOR of C) est un régiment d’infanterie de la Première réserve basé à Toronto. Mis sur pied le 26 avril 1860, il s’agit du régiment d’infanterie qui compte le plus grand nombre d’années de service continu au Canada.

Sur le champ de bataille, les « Rifles » sont reconnus pour leur capacité à se déplacer rapidement à pied, n’étant pas encombrés d’équipement lourd. Les membres du « Rifles » font partie de l’infanterie légère et on les appelle des « carabiniers ». Ils se caractérisent par leur initiative, leurs habiletés d’expert en adresse au tir et leurs tactiques pour petites unités.

Le Queen's Own Rifles of Canada a pris part à toutes les campagnes militaires du Canada et il a combattu avec grande distinction durant la Première Guerre mondiale et la Seconde Guerre mondiale durant lesquelles 7 carabiniers se sont mérités la Croix de Victoria. Au cours des 30 dernières années, le QOR of C a fourni du personnel pour soutenir les opérations de secours aux sinistrés en Ontario, au Québec et au Manitoba. Les carabiniers ont également participé à des opérations expéditionnaires en Afghanistan, en Bosnie-Herzégovine, en Croatie, à Chypre, en Égypte, en Iraq, en Namibie, en Somalie et au Soudan. 

 Le QOR of C est l’unité de la Première réserve du Canada qui détient la tâche de maintenir une compagnie de parachutistes. Pour devenir un membre de la compagnie, les carabiniers doivent suivre une instruction spécialisée en parachutage et maintenir une norme élevée de conditionnement physique. La compagnie de parachutistes se spécialise dans les opérations aéroportées dans le cadre desquelles les carabiniers effectuent du parachute à ouverture automatique à partir d’un avion ou d’un hélicoptère avec tout l’équipement nécessaire pour combattre dans le champ de bataille. Des pratiques ont lieu durant les exercices qui se tiennent la fin de semaine. L’unité appuie également l’Aviation royale canadienne à Trenton lorsqu’elle forme des équipages des C-130J Hercules sur l’utilisation de parachutes ainsi que le Centre d’instruction supérieure en guerre terrestre de l’Armée canadienne (CISGTA) en lui fournissant des plieurs de parachutes et des instructeurs en parachutisme.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Frank Lamie, CD
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef Donovan O'Halloran, CD

Communiquez avec nous

The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada
Manège militaire de Moss Park
130, rue Queen Est
Toronto, ON  M5A 1R9

Téléphone : 416-635-2761

Nouvelles

L’adjudant-maître (retraité) Martin Lane et sa femme en la Musée régimentaire des Governor General’s Foot Guards

« Ça a toujours été un partenariat » pour les conservateurs du Musée des Foot Guards

Ottawa, en Ontario — Vous pouvez dire qu’Estelle Lane s’est mariée aux Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) en même temps que son mari, l’adjudant-maître (retraité) Martin Lane, qui y a été membre pendant 15 ans, mais le fait est qu’elle est devenue membre de la famille avant même que le couple rende le tout officiel en 1967.
Le 13 août 2019

L’aigle à tête blanche

Des espèces en péril entre bonnes mains au Polygone de Connaught et Centre d’entraînement élémentaire d’Ottawa

Ottawa (Ontario) — Le Polygone de Connaught et Centre d’entraînement élémentaire (PCCEE), situé dans le sud-ouest d’Ottawa, est un carrefour principal d’entraînement au maniement des armes à feu pour les forces militaires et policières.
Le 23 juillet 2019

La traditionnelle cérémonie militaire du crépuscule sur la Colline de Parlement

Prenez l’été d’assaut avec Fortissimo

Ottawa (Ontario) — Cette activité ne pouvait être baptisée « pianissimo », terme qui signifie « jouer très faiblement ».
Le 15 juillet 2019

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

The Queen's Own Rifles of Canada est le régiment d’infanterie du Canada ayant servi le plus longtemps de façon ininterrompue et l’un de ceux qui se sont le plus distingués. Le Régiment est constitué le 26 avril 1860 par la fusion de six compagnies d’infanterie existantes : Barrie Volunteer Militia Rifle Company; 1st et 3rd Toronto Volunteer Militia Rifle Companies; Toronto Highland Volunteer Rifle Company; Toronto Volunteer Militia Foot Artillery Company et la Whitby Volunteer Highland Rifle Company. Lors de sa formation, il est nommé 2nd Battalion, Volunteer Militia Rifles of Canada, désignation qui est perpétuée de nos jours par la présence du chiffre « 2 » sur son insigne régimentaire de coiffure. Le 1st Battalion, mis sur pied à Montréal, n’existe plus. Même s’il s’agissait de volontaires, l’expertise militaire ne faisait pas défaut. Le premier commandant du Régiment, le Lieutenant-colonel W.S. Durie, était diplômé de Sandhurst et un ancien combattant de l’armée britannique; pour sa part, le Captaine H. Goodwin, le capitaine-adjudant, avait participé à la bataille de Waterloo au sein du Royal Horse Artillery.

Le Queen’s Own, qui a pris part à toutes les campagnes militaires du Canada, a subi ses premières pertes – sept soldats tués au combat, deux qui sont morts des suites de leurs blessures et 21 blessés – lors de la bataille de Ridgeway, contre les Fenians, le 2 juin 1866. Depuis lors, pendant l’expédition de la rivière Rouge, la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest, la guerre des Boers, les deux guerres mondiales et la guerre de Corée, le Régiment s’est distingué au combat, et 2 000 de ses hommes ont été tués et des milliers d’autres blessés. Sept de ses soldats ont été décorés de la Croix de Victoria.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

Date de modification :