The Ontario Regiment (RCAC)

Unit Identification

The Ontario Regiment crest

FIDELIS ET PARATUS

"Faithful and ready"

Location

Colonel R.S. McLaughlin Armoury
53 Simcoe St. North
Oshawa, ON  L1G 4R9

Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

Join Our Team

Looking for full-time or part-time work? We are hiring and provide excellent career opportunities. Please do not hesitate to call or email our recruiter who will be pleased to answer any questions you may have and provide direction on how to apply to our Regiment.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Sgt Nicholas Field  
Phone: 905-721- 4000, Ext. 4025
Email: OntRegt.Recruiting@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Contact a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

September to June:

  • Tuesday evenings
  • 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
  • one weekend per month.

Full-time summer employment is available from May to August.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Weapons:

Vehicles:

See a list of Canadian Army weapons and vehicles.

Who We Are

The Ontario Regiment (RCAC) is a Primary Reserve armoured reconnaissance regiment of 33 Canadian Brigade Group based in downtown Oshawa, Ontario. Formed in 1866, the regiment ranks among the oldest continuously serving Reserve (Militia) regiments in Canada and is one of the senior armoured regiments in the Royal Canadian Armoured Corps. The Ontario Regiment continues to produce well trained soldiers to augment operations of the Canadian Armed Forces domestically and abroad. The Ontario Regiment is prepared to respond to any emergency or natural disaster in the region.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commander: Lieutenant-Colonel Bruce Clayton, CD
  • Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer Bill Irving, CD

Contact Us

The Ontario Regiment
Colonel R.S. McLaughlin Armoury
53 Simcoe St. North
Oshawa, ON  L1G 4R9

Phone: 905-721-4000

News

Canadian Armed Forces and Allies hone joint warfighting skills at computer-assisted Exercise UNIFIED RESOLVE 2020

February 10, 2020 – Kingston, ON – Department of National Defence / Canadian Armed Forces
February 10, 2020

Major Greg Frank

‘Final Round’ marks an end to 37 years of service

Meaford, Ontario — On a brisk October afternoon, Major (Retired) Greg Frank loaded a C3 105 mm Howitzer. It was a task he had completed literally thousands of times over his 37-year career in the Canadian Army Reserve but this would be different: it was the last round he would ever fire.
February 7, 2020

New members of The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada, a Toronto-based Army Reserve regiment, are given Coins of Remembrance to mark Remembrance Day.

Queen’s Own Rifles coins ‘a sacred obligation’ to their Fallen

Toronto, Ontario — A 20-year-old tradition of honouring 160 years of their Regimental Fallen with commemorative Coins of Remembrance is still going strong at the Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada (QOR).
November 26, 2019

See more news

History

The Ontario Regiment (RCAC) is one of the oldest continuously serving regiments in Canada and one of the senior armoured regiments. Militia units have existed in what is now the Region of Durham since the earliest days of the 19th century.

In 1856, A Highland Rifle Company was raised by Captain James Wallace, in Whitby, and became Number 6 Company of the 2nd Battalion, volunteer Militia Rifles of Canada, later named "The Queen's Own Rifles of Toronto" in April 1860. During the period of national tension that gripped Canada in the early 1860's, other volunteer militia infantry companies were formed in Ontario County. In 1862, two formed in Oshawa, two in Whitby and one each in Prince Albert, Greenwood, Uxbridge, Columbus and Brooklin. Many men were mobilized for service during the tensions of 1864-1866, when Fenian invaders massed south of the Niagara Frontier. The Oshawa Rifle Company took part in the Battle of Ridgeway, in June 1866, as part of a Provisional Battalion of Ontario Infantry.

Read more of our history.

Date modified:

The Ontario Regiment (RCAC)

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du The Ontario Regiment

FIDELIS ET PARATUS

« Fidèle et prêt »

Endroit

Manège militaire Col R.S. McLaughlin
53, rue Simcoe Nord
Oshawa, ON  L1G 4R9

Reserve de l'Armée

Graphique : Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

Vous cherchez du travail à temps plein ou à temps partiel? Nous embauchons et offrons d'excellentes perspectives de carrière. N'hésitez pas à appeler ou envoyer un courriel à notre recruteur qui se fera un plaisir de répondre à vos questions et de vous indiquer comment vous adresser à notre régiment.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom: Sgt Nicholas Field
Téléphone : 905-721- 4000, Ext 4025
Courriel : OntRegt.Recruiting@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

septembre à juin:

  • mardi soir
  • 19 h à 22 h
  • une fin de semaine par mois.

L'emploi d'été à plein temps est disponible de mai à août.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes:

Véhicules:

Voir la liste complète des armes et véhicules.

Qui nous sommes

The Ontario Regiment (RCAC) est un régiment de reconnaissance blindé de la Première réserve du 33e Groupe-brigade du Canada basé au centre-ville d'Oshawa, en Ontario. Formé en 1866, le régiment figure parmi les plus anciens régiments de réserve (milice) au service continu du Canada et est l'un des principaux régiments blindés du Corps blindé royal canadien. Le Régiment de l'Ontario continue de former des soldats bien entraînés pour renforcer les opérations des Forces armées canadiennes au pays et à l'étranger. The Ontario Regiment est prêt à intervenir en cas de catastrophe ou de catastrophe naturelle dans la région.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Bruce Clayton, CD
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef Bill Irving, CD

Communiquez avec nous

The Ontario Regiment
Manège militaire Col R.S. McLaughlin
53, rue Simcoe Nord
Oshawa, ON  L1G 4R9

Téléphone : 905-721-4000

Nouvelles

Les Forces armées canadiennes et des Alliés parfont leurs compétences de combat interarmées dans le cadre de l’exercice assisté par ordinateur UNIFIED RESOLVE 2020

10 février 2020 – Kingston (Ont.) – Ministère de la Défense nationale/Forces armées canadiennes
Le 10 février 2020

Major Greg Frank

La fin de 37 ans de service soulignée par un dernier tir d’obus

Meaford (Ontario) — Par un frais après-midi d’octobre, le major (à la retraite) Greg Frank s’affairait à charger un obusier C3 de 105 mm. C’est une tâche qu’il a accomplie littéralement des milliers de fois au cours de sa carrière de 37 ans dans la Réserve de l’Armée canadienne. Toutefois, cette fois-ci était différente des autres : il s’agissait du tout dernier obus qu’il allait tirer de sa carrière.
Le 7 février 2020

De nouveaux membres des Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada, un régiment de la Réserve de l’Armée basé à Toronto, reçoivent des Pièces du Souvenir pour marquer le Jour du Souvenir.

Les pièces des Queen’s Own Rifles, un « devoir sacré » envers leurs morts au combat

Toronto (Ontario) — Une tradition vieille de 20 ans, qui permet d’honorer les militaires du Régiment morts au combat depuis 160 ans avec des Pièces du Souvenir, est encore en vigueur chez les Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada (QOR).
Le 26 novembre 2019

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

The Ontario Regiment (RCAC) est l’un des plus anciens régiments en service continu au Canada et l’un des plus vieux régiments blindés. Des unités de milice ont été présentes dans ce qui est maintenant la région de Durham depuis le tout début du 19e siècle.

En 1856, une Highland Rifle Company a été mise sur pied par le capitaine James Wallace, à Whitby, et est devenue la 6e Compagnie du 2e Bataillon, Volunteer Militia Rifles of Canada, plus tard renommée The Queen's Own Rifles of Toronto en avril 1860. Durant la période de tensions nationales qui prévalait au Canada au début des années 1860, d’autres compagnies d’infanterie de la milice volontaire ont été formées dans le comté d’Ontario. En 1862, deux ont été établies à Oshawa, deux à Whitby et une à Prince Albert, à Greenwood, à Uxbridge, à Columbus et à Brooklin. De nombreux hommes ont été mobilisés pour servir durant les tensions de 1864 à 1866, lorsque des envahisseurs féniens se sont rassemblés au sud de la frontière du Niagara. La Oshawa Rifle Company a participé à la bataille de Ridgeway, en juin 1866, au sein du Provisional Battalion of Ontario Infantry.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

Date de modification :