The Lincoln and Welland Regiment

Unit Identification

The Lincoln and Welland Regiment crest

NON NOBIS SED PATRIÆ

"Not for us but for our country"

Location

81 Lake Street
St. Catharines, ON  L2R 5X3

Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

Join Our Team

Looking for full-time or part-time work? We are hiring and provide excellent career opportunities. Please do not hesitate to call or email our recruiter who will be pleased to answer any questions you may have and provide direction on how to apply to our Regiment.

Our Team Recruiter

Name:  Sergeant Dylan Orr
Phone:  1-905-685-6777 Ext. 3532
Email:  Dylan.Orr@forces.gc.ca

Or

Phone: 416-200-ARMY (2769)
Email: 32CBGrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Contact a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

September to June:

  • Thursday evenings
  • 7:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.
  • one weekend per month.

Full-time summer employment is available from May to August.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Weapons:

Vehicles:

  • Medium Support Vehicle System (MSVS)
  • Militarized Commercial Off-The-Shelf (MilCOTS)
  • Crew Cab

See a list of Canadian Army weapons and vehicles.

Who We Are

The Lincoln and Welland Regiment is a reserve infantry unit that is located in St. Catharines, Ontario.  As infantry, the Regiment trains to support the infantry’s core mission which is to close with and destroy the enemy. The Regiment conducts training in offensive, defensive and patrolling exercises as dismounted infantry. As well, the Regiment prepares and trains to assist the civic authorities in case of domestic emergencies such as floods or ice storms.

The Lincoln and Welland Regiment traces its history to the Butler’s Rangers in 1777 who participated to defend British North America during the American revolutionary war. The Lincoln Militia was raised from the Niagara area and participated in the war of 1812.  Between 1866 and 1914 there were various name changes and reorganizations. In 1914, the 19th “Lincoln” Regiment had its headquarters in St. Catharines, and the 44th “Lincoln and Welland” Regiment had its headquarters in Niagara Falls; each unit comprised eight companies.  On 15 December 1936, the two units, then known as The Lincoln Regiment and The Lincoln and Welland Regiment, were reorganized into The Lincoln and Welland Regiment with an establishment of 467 all ranks. Members of the Regiment served in the WWII and many conflicts and deployments since that time, including Korea, Cyprus, the Balkans, Afghanistan and Iraq.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commander: Lieutenant Colonel Chris Cincio, CD
  • Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer Steve Ward, CD

Contact Us

Lincoln and Welland Regiment
81 Lake Street
St. Catharines, ON  L2R 5X3

Phone: 905-685-6777

News

The co-curators of the Governor General’s Foot Guards Regimental Museum stand among artifacts.

‘It’s always been a partnership’ for Foot Guards museum curators

Ottawa, Ontario — You could say Estelle Lane married the Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) right along with her husband, Master Warrant Officer (Retired) Martin Lane, who was a member for 15 years, but the fact is, she became a part of the family even before the pair made it official in 1967.
August 13, 2019

Bald eagle

Species at risk in good hands at Ottawa’s Connaught Ranges and Primary Training Centre

Ottawa, Ontario — The Connaught Ranges and Primary Training Centre (CRPTC) in Southwest Ottawa is a major hub for military and police firearms training.
July 23, 2019

Traditional sunset ceremony at Parliment Hill

Charge into summer with Fortissimo

Ottawa, Ontario — It couldn’t have been called pianissimo, which means “play it delicately.”
July 15, 2019

See more news

Our History

The history of the Regiment can be traced to the raising of Butler's Rangers on 15 September 1777. Lieutenant Colonel John Butler, an officer in the New York colonial militia and the British Indian Department, was a Loyalist from the Mohawk Valley in New York. He convinced Sir Guy Carleton, the Governor of Canada, that a Ranger unit should be raised to fight on the frontiers in conjunction with the Indians. He eventually raised 10 companies and some 900 officers and men headquartered at Fort Niagara. Butler’s Rangers fought on the frontiers of New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, West Virginia, Ohio and Kentucky before being reduced to nil strength on 24 June 1784. By 1794, after several re-organizations, Colonel Butler and most of the former Rangers formed the Lincoln Militia in the Niagara Region.

By the outbreak of the War of 1812 the Lincoln Militia had been organized into five regiments. Elements of each of those regiments were involved in all major engagements from Niagara to Detroit, including the Battle of Queenston Heights on 13 October 1812. There, a soldier of the 2nd Lincoln Militia, captured an American Regimental Colour - an act unique in the history of the Canadian Army.

Read more of our history.

Date modified:

The Lincoln and Welland Regiment

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du The Lincoln and Welland Regiment

NON NOBIS SED PATRIÆ

« Pas pour nous mais pour notre patrie »

Emplacement

81 rue Lake 
St. Catharines, ON  L2R 5X3

Reserve de l'Armée

Graphique : Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

Vous cherchez du travail à temps plein ou à temps partiel? Nous embauchons et offrons d'excellentes perspectives de carrière. N'hésitez pas à appeler ou envoyer un courriel à notre recruteur qui se fera un plaisir de répondre à vos questions et de vous indiquer comment vous adresser à notre régiment.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Sergent Dylan Orr
Téléphone :  905-685-6777, Ext. 3532
Courriel : Dylan.Orr@forces.gc.ca

Ou

Téléphone :  416-200-ARMY (2769)
Courriel : 32CBGrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

septembre à juin:

  • jeudi soir
  • 19h30 à 22h30
  • une fin de semaine par mois.

L'emploi d'été à plein temps est disponible de mai à août.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes:

Véhicules:

  • Système de véhicules de soutien moyen (SVSM)
  • Cabine de l'équipage
  • Militarisé en vente sur le marché (MilCOTS) 

Voir une liste des armes et véhicules de l'Armée canadienne.

Qui nous sommes

The Lincoln and Welland Regiment est une unité d’infanterie de la Réserve située à St. Catharines, en Ontario. Le Régiment suit de l’entraînement afin d’appuyer la mission principale de l’infanterie, qui est de se rapprocher et de détruire l’ennemi. Le Régiment, considéré comme une unité d’infanterie débarquée, effectue son entraînement dans le cadre d’exercices offensifs et défensifs et d’exercices de patrouille. En outre, le Régiment s’entraîne à aider les autorités civiles lors d’urgences nationales comme des inondations ou des tempêtes de verglas.

 L’histoire du Lincoln and Welland Regiment remonte à la création des Rangers de Butler en 1777, qui ont contribué à la défense de l’Amérique du Nord britannique durant la guerre révolutionnaire américaine. La milice de Lincoln a été mise sur pied dans la région du Niagara et elle a pris part à la guerre de 1812. Entre 1866 et 1914, il y a eu plusieurs changements de nom et réorganisations. En 1914, le quartier général du 19th « Lincoln » Regiment était situé à St. Catharines et celui du 44th « Lincoln and Welland » Regiment, à Niagara Falls; chaque unité comptait huit compagnies. Le 15 décembre 1936, les deux unités, alors connues sous le nom de Lincoln Regiment et Lincoln and Welland Regiment, ont été réorganisées pour former le Lincoln and Welland Regiment. Ses effectifs comptaient alors 467 militaires de tous grades. Les membres du Régiment ont servi durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et dans le cadre de nombreux conflits et déploiements par la suite, notamment en Corée, à Chypre, dans les Balkans, en Afghanistan et en Iraq.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Chris Cincio, CD
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef Steve Ward, CD

Communiquez avec nous

Lincoln and Welland Regiment
81 rue Lake
St. Catharines, ON  L2R 5X3
Téléphone : 905-685-6777

Nouvelles

L’adjudant-maître (retraité) Martin Lane et sa femme en la Musée régimentaire des Governor General’s Foot Guards

« Ça a toujours été un partenariat » pour les conservateurs du Musée des Foot Guards

Ottawa, en Ontario — Vous pouvez dire qu’Estelle Lane s’est mariée aux Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) en même temps que son mari, l’adjudant-maître (retraité) Martin Lane, qui y a été membre pendant 15 ans, mais le fait est qu’elle est devenue membre de la famille avant même que le couple rende le tout officiel en 1967.
Le 13 août 2019

L’aigle à tête blanche

Des espèces en péril entre bonnes mains au Polygone de Connaught et Centre d’entraînement élémentaire d’Ottawa

Ottawa (Ontario) — Le Polygone de Connaught et Centre d’entraînement élémentaire (PCCEE), situé dans le sud-ouest d’Ottawa, est un carrefour principal d’entraînement au maniement des armes à feu pour les forces militaires et policières.
Le 23 juillet 2019

La traditionnelle cérémonie militaire du crépuscule sur la Colline de Parlement

Prenez l’été d’assaut avec Fortissimo

Ottawa (Ontario) — Cette activité ne pouvait être baptisée « pianissimo », terme qui signifie « jouer très faiblement ».
Le 15 juillet 2019

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

L’histoire du Régiment remonte à la mise sur pied du régiment des Rangers de Butler, le 15 septembre 1777. Le lieutenant-colonel John Butler, officier de la milice coloniale de New York et du ministère britannique des indiens, est un loyaliste originaire de la vallée de la Mohawk dans l’État de New York. Il convainc Sir Guy Carleton, gouverneur du Canada, de mettre en place une unité de Rangers pour défendre les frontières aux côtés des Amérindiens. Il réussit à former 10 compagnies et à réunir 900 officiers et militaires du rang, dont le quartier général se trouve au Fort Niagara. Les Rangers de Butler combattent aux frontières de l’État de New York, de la Pennsylvanie, du New Jersey, de la Virginie-Occidentale, de l’Ohio et du Kentucky avant d’être réduits à néant le 24 juin 1784. En 1794, après plusieurs réorganisations, le Colonel Butler et la plupart des anciens Rangers créent la milice de Lincoln dans la région du Niagara.

Lors du déclenchement de la guerre de 1812, la milice de Lincoln est structurée en cinq régiments. Des éléments de chacun de ces régiments participent aux principaux combats qui se déroulent entre Niagara et Détroit, dont la bataille de Queenston Heights, le 13 octobre 1812. Lors de cette bataille, un soldat de la 2e ‘Milice de Lincoln réussit à s’emparer d’un drapeau régimentaire américain, un fait unique dans l’histoire de l’Armée canadienne.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

 

Date de modification :