Juno the Canadian Army Mascot

Juno is the official mascot of the Canadian Army and represents the hard working men and women in uniform. Juno typifies the traditions, morals and ethics that make up the Canadian Army and is guided by three distinct ethics: strength, patriotism and honour. Juno enforces the fact notion that the Canadian Army is Strong. Proud. Ready. for any mission, at any time. 

History

The polar bear is the perfect animal to represent the Canadian Army. Polar bears, like our soldiers, are brave, strong, resilient, tenacious, agile and more than capable of defending themselves. They are also an enduring symbol of our North – strong and free – as is the Canadian Army.

In 2003, a ‘Name the Bear’ contest was held in order to find a name for the Canadian Army’s new mascot. The contest was open to the public and received close to 100 names from entrants across the county. Ultimately, the name Juno was chosen as the official name of the Canadian Army’s mascot, commemorating a momentous day in world history.

His name honours the historic Canadian landings on Juno Beach on the Normandy coast of France during the Second World War. More than 1,000 Canadian troops were injured and 340 made the ultimate sacrifice on the day now known as D-Day.

Would you like Juno to attend your event? If so, please fill out the booking request form: https://www.canada.ca/en/department-national-defence/services/contact-us/army-events/juno-army-mascot.html

Images

Honorary Master Corporal Juno

Born at the Toronto Zoo on Remembrance Day 2015, a female polar bear cub was adopted by the Canadian Army. Named Juno, the Canadian Army welcomed her as its official “live mascot” in recognition of International Polar Bear Day in February 2016.

On her first birthday, November 11, 2016, she was promoted from Honorary Private to Honorary Corporal. On her fifth birthday, November 11, 2020, she was promoted to Honorary Master Corporal.

In March, 2017, Honorary Master Corporal Juno deployed to the Assiniboine Park Zoo in Winnipeg on “Operation SOCIALIZATION.” At the Assiniboine Park Zoo she learned to socialize and engage with other polar bears in order to foster a healthy transition from young cub to adulthood. Operation SOCIALIZATION was a great success and Honorary Master Corporal Juno returned to the Toronto Zoo in October 2018.

At the age of five, Honorary Master Corporal Juno is still a growing bear. She continues to gain confidence as she interacts with the other polar bears at the Toronto Zoo.

Honorary Master Corporal Juno stands as a living example of the bravery, tenacity and strength of Canadian soldiers who were instrumental in the success of D-Day operations on the shores of Normandy in 1944.

Visit her today at the Toronto Zoo!

Images

Date modified:

Juno la mascotte de l'Armée canadienne

Juno est la mascotte officielle de l’Armée canadienne et représente les hommes et les femmes en uniforme qui travaillent sans relâche.Juno incarne les traditions, la morale et l’éthique qui constituent l’Armée canadienne, et est guidé par trois principes éthiques distincts : la force, le patriotisme et l’honneur. Juno renforce le concept d’une Armée canadienne dont les membres sont Forts, Fiers et Prêts pour toute mission, en tout temps. 

Histoire

L’ours polaire est l’animal parfait pour représenter l’Armée canadienne. Tout comme nos soldats, les ours polaires sont braves, forts, résilients, tenaces, agiles et plus que capables de se défendre. Ils sont également un symbole de longue date du Nord canadien – fort et libre – comme l’Armée canadienne.

Un concours a été lancé publiquement en 2003 pour trouver le nom de la nouvelle mascotte officielle de l’Armée canadienne. Près de 100 suggestions ont été reçues de participants de partout au pays. C’est finalement le nom « Juno » qui a été choisi, en hommage à une journée d’une grande importance dans l’histoire mondiale.

Ce nom fait référence au débarquement historique canadien sur la plage Juno, sur la côte de la Normandie en France, durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Plus de 1000 soldats canadiens ont été blessés et 340 autres ont fait le sacrifice ultime en ce jour qu’on appelle aujourd’hui le Jour J.

Voulez-vous que Juno participe à votre évènement? Si oui, veuillez remplir le formulaire suivant: https://www.canada.ca/fr/ministere-defense-nationale/services/contactez-nous/evenements-armee/juno-mascotte-armee.html

Galerie de photos

Caporal-chef honoraire Juno

Juno, une toute jeune ourse polaire née au zoo de Toronto le jour du Souvenir 2015, a été adoptée par l’Armée canadienne. En février 2016, elle est devenue la « mascotte officielle » de l’Armée en reconnaissance de la journée internationale de l’ours polaire.

Le jour de son premier anniversaire, le 11 novembre 2016, elle a été promue du grade de soldat honoraire au grade de caporal honoraire. À son cinquième anniversaire, le 11 novembre 2020, elle a été promue caporal-chef honoraire.

En mars 2017, le caporal-chef honoraire Juno a participé à un déploiement au zoo du parc Assiniboine, à Winnipeg, dans le cadre de l’« opération SOCIALIZATION. » À cet endroit, elle a appris à socialiser et à interagir avec d’autres ours polaires afin de favoriser une transition saine d’oursonne à adulte. L’opération SOCIALIZATION a connu un franc succès et le caporal-chef honoraire Juno est retourné au zoo de Toronto en octobre 2018.

Âgée de cinq ans, le caporal-chef honoraire Juno est encore une ourse en croissance. Elle continue de gagner en confiance alors qu’elle interagit avec d’autres ours polaires au zoo de Toronto.

Le caporal-chef honoraire Juno est un exemple vivant de la bravoure, de la ténacité et de la force des militaires canadiens, qui ont été déterminants dans la réussite des opérations le jour J sur les rives de la Normandie en 1944.

Visitez Juno au zoo de Toronto dès aujourd’hui!

 

Galerie de photos

Date de modification :