The Irish Regiment of Canada

Unit Identification

The Irish Regiment of Canada crest

FÍOR GO BÁS

"Faithful until death"

Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Phone: 705-669-2300
Email: 2IrishRecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Or

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Contact a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

Unit Parade Night: Thursday evenings (Sept-May): 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Weapons:

Vehicles:

See a complete list of Weapons and Vehicles.

Who We Are

The 2nd Battalion, Irish Regiment of Canada is an infantry regiment in Sudbury.

As the Army’s primary war-fighters and the core of the combat arms team, infantry soldiers are responsible for closing with and destroying the enemy. Supported by the artillery, regiments of armour and the combat engineers, infantry soldiers are capable of operating anywhere in the world in any environment - arctic tundra, mountains, jungle or desert - and in any combination of arms, including airmobile and amphibious operations.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

Commander: Lieutenant Colonel Ken McClure, CD

Contact Us

The Irish Regiment of Canada
Sudbury Armoury
333 Riverside Dr.
Sudbury, ON
P3E 1H5

Phone: 705-669-2300

Hours of Operations: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

News

Major General Hetherington, accompanied by Honorary Colonel of the Canadian Army Paul Hindo

‘Respect the Arctic environment’: Major-General Simon Hetherington

Ottawa, Ontario — Major-General Simon Hetherington, Commander of the Canadian Army Doctrine and Training Centre (CADTC), based in Kingston, Ontario, intended to spend a whirlwind weekend in Resolute Bay in late February, 2018 to observe Arctic training going on there – but the “whirlwind” was almost replaced by a blizzard that would have prolonged his stay.
April 13, 2018

32 Service Battalion members

Canadian Army Reserve trucking trainees go international

Toronto, Ontario — A new milestone has been reached in an initiative to train Canadian Army (CA) Reservists in long-distance trucking: a United States border crossing.
April 3, 2018

Members of the Influence Activities Task Force

Multi-national exercise: Influencing through joint cooperation

Nienburg, Germany — Working with soldiers from 23 other NATO countries, a group of Canadian Army soldiers from the 5th Canadian Division Influence Activities Task Force (IATF) participated in Exercise JOINT COOPERATION 17, in Nienburg, Germany in the fall of 2017 to enhance expertise and compare best practices in civil-military relations.
March 27, 2018

See more news

Our History

Originally gazetted on 15 October 1918, the 110th Irish Regiment came into existence through the efforts of the Irish Club and the Irish Rifle Club, two Toronto-based organizations, established to promote fellowship among Canadian citizens of Irish ancestry. The 110th Regiment raised personnel for three separate battalions – the 110th Canadian Overseas Battalion, the 180th (Sportsmen’s) Battalion and the 208t8h (Canadian Irish) Battalion. Most of the personnel of the 110th Battalion were used as reinforcements for other battalions of Irish origin. The 180th and 208th Battalions fought as separate units incurring 60 percent casualties but winning nine battle honours.

During the interwar period, the Irish Regiment continued as an infantry battalion of the Non-Permanent Active Militia, garrisoned at Fort York Armoury, Toronto. It underwent a series of regimental name changes from the 110th Irish Regiment to “The Irish Regiment” (1920) to the “The Irish Regiment of Canada” (1932), its present title. In 1932, the present eight pointed star, cap badge, (Maid of Eire) the kilt (Plaid of Saffron) and the dark green caubeen were authorized and made official on 15 August 1933, making the Irish Regiment of Canada the only kilted Irish Regiment outside Ireland.

Read more of our history.

Date modified:

The Irish Regiment of Canada

Identification de l'unité

The Irish Regiment of Canada crest

FÍOR GO BÁS

« Fidèle jusqu'à la mort »

Reserve de l'Armée

Graphique : Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’informations. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre curriculum vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Téléphone : 705-669-2300
Courriel : 2IrishRecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité : mardi soir (de septembre à mai), de 19 h à 22 h.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes:

Véhicules:

Voir la liste complète des armes et véhicules.

Qui nous sommes

The Irish Regiment of Canada est un régiment d’infanterie basé à Sudbury.

L’infanterie, principale force combattante de l’Armée de terre et élément central de l’équipe des armes de combat, a pour rôle de s’approcher de l’ennemi et de l’anéantir. Avec l’appui de l’artillerie et des régiments blindés et du génie, les soldats d’infanterie peuvent mener des opérations, y compris des opérations aéromobiles et amphibies, n’importe où dans le monde, dans n’importe quel milieu - arctique, toundra, montagnes, jungle ou désert - et avec n’importe quelles armes

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Ken McClure, CD

Contactez nous

The Irish Regiment of Canada
Sudbury Armoury
333 Riverside Dr.
Sudbury, ON
P3E 1H5

Téléphone : 705-669-2300
Heures de bureau : Du lundi au vendredi : De 8 h à 16 h, Jeudi soir : De 19 h à 22 h

Nouvelles

Instruction collective durant l’exercice FROZEN GUNNER

Des unités de la Régulière et de la Réserve s’entrainent ensemble

Shilo (Manitoba) — J’ai participé à plusieurs exercices de tir au canon durant ma carrière, mais c’était la première fois que j’allais voir les « gros canons » à l’œuvre.
Le 4 juin 2018

Des pompiers de la 5e Division du Canada

L’équipe de l’aménagement forestier de Gagetown réduit les risques d’incendie

Oromocto, Nouveau-Brunswick — Les résidents d’Oromocto, au Nouveau-Brunswick, ont angoissé, à juste titre, à l’automne 2017 lorsque trois foyers d’incendie ont ravagé plus de 1 200 hectares du champ de tir et secteur d’entraînement (CTSE) près de la Base de soutien de la 5e Division du Canada Gagetown (BS 5 Div CA).
Le 1 juin 2018

le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja, Ukraine, à Starychi (Ukraine)

Les racines d’un capitaine d’infanterie partent de son régiment et s’étendent jusqu’en Inde

Hamilton (Ontario) — Le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja accorde beaucoup d’importance à ses origines sud-asiatiques. Ces dernières lui servent de base de référence et lui procurent un sentiment de fierté dans le cadre de son rôle dans la Réserve de l’Armée canadienne (Rés AC).
Le 28 mai 2018

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

Cité initialement dans la Gazette le 15 octobre 1918, le 110th Irish Regiment a vu le jour grâce au travail de deux organismes de Toronto créés pour promouvoir la fraternité entre les citoyens canadiens d’origine irlandaise : le Irish Club et le Irish Rifle Club. Le 110th Regiment fourni l’effectif de trois bataillons différents – le 110th Canadian Overseas Battalion, le 180th (Sportsmen’s) Battalion et le 208th (Canadian Irish) Battalion. L’essentiel du personnel du 110e Bataillon a servi de renfort à d’autres bataillons formés de militaires d’origine irlandaise. Les 180e et 208e Bataillons, pour leur part, ont combattu séparément, perdant 60 pour cent de leurs hommes, mais remportant neuf honneurs de guerre.

Pendant l’entre-deux-guerres, The Irish Regiment a poursuivi ses activités comme bataillon d’infanterie de la Milice active non permanente en garnison au manège militaire de Fort York, à Toronto. Il a successivement porté les noms de 110th Irish Regiment, The Irish Regiment (1920), puis The Irish Regiment of Canada (1932), nom qu’il porte encore de nos jours. En 1932, l’étoile à huit pointes, l’insigne de coiffe (la dame d’Eire), le kilt (safran) et le caubeen vert foncé ont été autorisés, avant d’être officialisés le 15 août 1933. The Irish Regiment of Canada est devenu alors le seul régiment irlandais hors d’Irlande dont les membres portent le kilt.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

Date de modification :