The Grey and Simcoe Foresters

Unit Identification

The Grey & Simcoe Foresters crest

Tenacious and Versatile

Location

Barrie

Barrie Armoury
37 Parkside Drive
Barrie, ON
L4N 1W5

_____

Owen Sound

Tommy Holmes, VC Memorial Armoury
858 10th Street E
Owen Sound, ON  
N4K 1T4

_____

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Sergeant Tiffany Webber
Phone:
Barrie: 705-728-3761, Ext. 4842
Owen Sound: 519-538-1371, Ext. 6933
Email: Tiffany.Webber@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Find a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

We train on Thursday evenings, 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m., from September to June.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Weapons:

 Vehicles:

  • Light Over Snow Vehicle (LOSV)
  • Medium Over Snow Vehicle (MOSV)
  • Medium Support Vehicle System (MSVS)
  • Military Commercial Off-self (MilCOTS)

See a complete list of Vehicles and Weapons.

Who We Are

The Grey and Simcoe Foresters (G&SF) is a unit of 31 Canadian Brigade Group (31 CBG), whose task is to augment Canada’s military with trained infantrymen and is the lead unit of the 4th Canadian Division’s Arctic Response Company Group (ARCG).

The G&SF is always looking for fit, motivated, confident men and women with an interest in challenging and multifaceted training as infantry soldiers. Primarily, new recruits are High School or Post-Secondary School students with time to work one evening a week along with one or two weekends a month during the school year (Sept – May). With their first few years of service, new members must also be available to attend full-time course conducted during the summer where technical skills are acquired for employment on operations and training during the part-time training year.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer - Lieutenant-Colonel P.A. Rittershofer, CD
  • Regimental Sergeant-Major - Chief Warrant Officer C. Pawliw, CD

Contact Us

Barrie

Grey and Simcoe Foresters
HQ & Barrie Garrison
Barrie Armoury
37 Parkside Drive
Barrie, ON  
L4N 1W5

Phone: 705-728-3761

Owen Sound

Grey and Simcoe Foresters
Owen Sound Garrison
Tommy Holmes, VC Memorial Armoury
858 10th Street E
Owen Sound, ON  
N4K 1T4

Phone: 519-538-1371

News

Collective training during Exercise FROZEN GUNNER

Teamwork: Regular and Reserve Force artillery units train together

Shilo, Manitoba — I have been on several gun exercises throughout my career, but this was the first time I was going to see the “big guns” in action.
June 4, 2018

Firefighters from 5th Canadian Division

Gagetown forest management team reduces fire risks

Oromocto, New Brunswick — Residents of Oromocto, New Brunswick were understandably alarmed when, in the fall of 2017, three separate fires burned over 1,200 hectares of the  Range and Training Area (RTA) at nearby 5th Canadian Division Support Base Gagetown (5 CDSB).
June 1, 2018

Captain Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja, Ukraine headquarters in Starychi

Infantry captain’s roots run through his regiment and back to India

Hamilton, Ontario — Captain Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja’s South Asian heritage means a lot to him. It has also provided him with context and a sense of pride in his role with the Canadian Army Reserve (ARes).
May 28, 2018

See more news

Our History

In 1795, the Simcoe District (then covering much of what is now Grey and Dufferin Counties) was created by Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe in order to organize the area for military purposes. The District was sparsely populated for many years but by the outbreak of the War of 1812, there were enough men to provide at least a dozen to the York Militia and these fought at Queenston Heights. In 1814 other men went from North Simcoe with the Newfoundland Fencibles in time to save Michilimacinac and capture the two American schooners attacking that place and thus restored British Naval supremacy on the Upper Great Lakes. Several of them then went with Captain Bulger when he captured the American post at Prairie du Chien in Wisconsin. At the end of the War, the militia units were all disbanded and the Sedentary Militia resumed its normal routine.

Read more of our history.

Date modified:

The Grey and Simcoe Foresters

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du Grey & Simcoe Foresters

Tenace et polyvalent

 

Endroit

Barrie

Quartier général & Garnison Barrie
37 Parkside Drive
Barrie, ON  
L4N 1W5

_____

Owen Sound

Manège militaire d'Owen Sound
858 10th Street E
Owen Sound, ON  
N4K 1T4

_____

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’information. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre Curriculum Vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Sergent Tiffany Webber
Téléphone :
Barrie : 705-728-3761, Ext. 4842 
Owen Sound : 519-538-1371, Ext. 6933
Courriel : Tiffany.Webber@forces.gc.ca

Ou 

Téléphone: 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous. 

Entraînement

Nous nous entraînons les jeudi soirs de 19 h à 22 h, de septembre à juin.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes :

Véhicules :

  • Véhicules autoneige légers
  • Véhicules autoneige moyen
  • Système de véhicules de soutien moyen (SVSM)
  • Military Commercial Off-The-Shelf (MilCOTS)

Voir la liste complète des armes et véhicules.

Qui nous sommes

The Grey and Simcoe Foresters (G&SF) est une unité du 31e Groupe-brigade du Canada (31 GBC), dont le mandat consiste à augmenter les effectifs des Forces armées canadiennes en leur fournissant des soldats d’infanterie formés. Il s’agit également de la principale unité du Groupe-compagnie d’intervention dans l’Arctique (GCIA) de la 4e Division du Canada.

Le G&SF est toujours à la recherche d’hommes et de femmes en forme, motivés et sûrs d’eux qui sont intéressés à suivre une instruction stimulante et polyvalente en tant que soldats d’infanterie. Les nouvelles recrues sont principalement des élèves du secondaire et des étudiants de niveau postsecondaire qui ont le temps de travailler un soir par semaine ou une ou deux fins de semaine par mois durant l’année scolaire (de sept. à mai). Elles doivent également, au cours de leurs premières années de service, suivre des cours à temps plein pendant l’été qui leur permettront d’acquérir des compétences techniques en vue des tâches qu’elles seront appelées à accomplir à temps partiel pendant le reste de l’année, dans le cadre des opérations et de l’instruction.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant - Lieutenant-colonel P.A. Rittershofer, CD
  • Sergent-major régimentaire - Adjudant-chef C. Pawliw, CD

Contactez-nous

Barrie

The Grey and Simcoe Foresters
Quartier général & Garnison Barrie
37 Parkside Drive
Barrie, ON  
L4N 1W5

Téléphone : 705-728-3761

Owen Sound

The Grey and Simcoe Foresters
Manège militaire d'Owen Sound
858 10th Street E
Owen Sound, ON  
N4K 1T4

Téléphone : 519-538-1371

Nouvelles

Instruction collective durant l’exercice FROZEN GUNNER

Des unités de la Régulière et de la Réserve s’entrainent ensemble

Shilo (Manitoba) — J’ai participé à plusieurs exercices de tir au canon durant ma carrière, mais c’était la première fois que j’allais voir les « gros canons » à l’œuvre.
Le 4 juin 2018

Des pompiers de la 5e Division du Canada

L’équipe de l’aménagement forestier de Gagetown réduit les risques d’incendie

Oromocto, Nouveau-Brunswick — Les résidents d’Oromocto, au Nouveau-Brunswick, ont angoissé, à juste titre, à l’automne 2017 lorsque trois foyers d’incendie ont ravagé plus de 1 200 hectares du champ de tir et secteur d’entraînement (CTSE) près de la Base de soutien de la 5e Division du Canada Gagetown (BS 5 Div CA).
Le 1 juin 2018

le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja, Ukraine, à Starychi (Ukraine)

Les racines d’un capitaine d’infanterie partent de son régiment et s’étendent jusqu’en Inde

Hamilton (Ontario) — Le capitaine Sarbjit Singh (Rene) Juneja accorde beaucoup d’importance à ses origines sud-asiatiques. Ces dernières lui servent de base de référence et lui procurent un sentiment de fierté dans le cadre de son rôle dans la Réserve de l’Armée canadienne (Rés AC).
Le 28 mai 2018

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

En 1795, le district de Simcoe (qui englobait une grande partie du territoire qui correspond aujourd’hui aux comtés de Grey et de Dufferin) a été créé par le lieutenant -gouverneur John Graves Simcoe, dans le cadre de l’organisation de la région à des fins militaires. Le district a été peu peuplé durant plusieurs années, mais au début de la guerre de 1812, le nombre d’hommes qui y habitaient était suffisant pour qu’une bonne douzaine d’entre eux fassent partie de la milice de York; ces hommes ont participé aux combats qui se sont déroulés dans les hauteurs de Queenston. En 1814, d’autres hommes sont partis de North Simcoe pour se joindre aux Territoriaux de Terre­Neuve, juste à temps pour sauver l’île de Michilimacinac et capturer les deux goélettes américaines qui étaient en train de l’attaquer, ce qui a permis à la Marine britannique de reprendre la suprématie dans le secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs. Plusieurs de ces hommes ont ensuite suivi le Capitaine Bulger, et ils étaient à ses côtés au moment où il a capturé le poste américain de Prairie du Chien, au Wisconsin. À la fin de la guerre, les unités de la milice ont toutes été dissoutes, et la milice sédentaire a repris ses activités habituelles.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

Date de modification :