Governor General's Foot Guards

Unit Identification

Governor General's Foot Guards crest

CIVITAS ET PRINCEPS CURA NOSTRA

"Our country and ruler are our concern"

Location

Cartier Square Drill Hall
2 Queen Elizabeth Drive
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0K2

Cartier Square Drill Hall

Cartier Square Drill Hall

Join Our Team

Looking for full-time or part-time work? We are hiring and provide excellent career opportunities. Please do not hesitate to call or email our recruiter who will be pleased to answer any questions you may have and provide direction on how to apply to our Regiment.

Our Team Recruiter

Email: GGFG.Recruiting@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Find a Recruiting Centre near you.

When We Train

September to June:

  • Tuesday evenings
  • 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
  • one weekend per month.

Full-time summer employment is available from May to August.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Weapons:

See a list of Canadian Army weapons and vehicles.

Mission Task

A number of Army Reserve units have been assigned specific Mission Tasks. Members within these units are trained in these specific capabilities and ready to be fully integrated, as a formed entity, into the Regular Force units that they reinforce.

The mission task for our unit is: Public Duties – Our Reserve unit is trained in the conduct of ceremonial duties to provide ceremonial guards and sentries in support of the Government of Canada in the National Capital Region.

Who We Are

The Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) is the senior reserve infantry regiment in Canada.  Established on June 7th, 1872 and located in Ottawa at the Cartier Square Drill Hall, the Regiment is a primary reserve infantry unit and our members are part-time soldiers who serve Canada. Comprised of over 250 officers and non-commissioned members, the Foot Guards consist of four companies, a band, and the Ceremonial Guard. The four companies are divided by function; two Rifle Companies, a Training Company and a Support Company. The Foot Guards have been a fixture in the national capital for over 145 years providing a functional and ceremonial presence throughout the Ottawa area.

Our Roles As Infantry Soldiers

At the core of our unit, we are infantry reserve soldiers who train part-time and full-time for domestic and international missions. This involves training for domestic operations like the 1998 Ice Storm where the unit deployed to help the citizens of Ontario recover from a national disaster. It also involves training for international operations and support to the Regular Force in countries such as Haiti, Afghanistan and Sudan, where troops from our regiment have deployed in recent years.

Our Ceremonial Role

As Guards, we share a close connection to the Governor General and participate in ceremonies in the Ottawa area. The Regiment has conducted the ceremony on Parliament Hill and at Rideau Hall for over 40 years. Our full dress uniform, with the scarlet tunic and bearskin hat, is immediately recognizable and one of the two uniforms worn by the ceremonial guard during the summer. The Ceremonial Guard, as a sub-unit of the GGFG, promulgates the traditions of the “guards regiments” and performs the daily changing of the guard during the summer time on the lawns of Parliament Hill.  In addition to this excellent opportunity for full-time summer employment, our ceremonial duties also take place throughout the year.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer: Lieutenant-Colonel Chris Lynam, CD, AdeC
  • Regimental Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer Guy Doucette, CD

Contact Us

Governor General's Foot Guards
Cartier Square Drill Hall
2 Queen Elizabeth Drive
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0K2

Phone: 613-990-6605
Email: GGFG_OR@forces.gc.ca

News

New members of The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada, a Toronto-based Army Reserve regiment, are given Coins of Remembrance to mark Remembrance Day.

Queen’s Own Rifles coins ‘a sacred obligation’ to their Fallen

Toronto, Ontario — A 20-year-old tradition of honouring 160 years of their Regimental Fallen with commemorative Coins of Remembrance is still going strong at the Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada (QOR).
November 26, 2019

Sergeant Harrison Meyer from C Company (Medevac) 1-108th Assault Helicopter Battalion United States Army, explains how to load and unload a Blackhawk helicopter with Canadian Armed Forces medical personnel during Operation IMPACT in Kuwait

Italian Campaign a bond for soldiers in Kuwait

Ali Al Salem Air Base, Kuwait — Italian and Canadian soldiers working side by side in Kuwait have formed a lasting friendship thanks in part to a little-known piece of Second World War history.
November 20, 2019

Sergeant Marnie Musson, a Medical Technician with Joint Task Force-Ukraine, mentors Combat First Aid training at the International Peacekeeping and Security Centre in Starychi Ukraine

Canadian researcher investigating gender and peacekeeping

Toronto, Ontario — As the United Nations and militaries across the world work toward greater female representation in peacekeeping operations, a Canadian researcher is delving into this little-studied area to shed more light on the potential implications.
November 19, 2019

See more news

Our History

On June 7th, 1872, Her Majesty Queen Victoria approved Militia General Order 16, authorizing the formation of a Battalion of Foot Guards in Ottawa. This battalion was to have the same precedence and status in the Active Militia as held by Her Majesty’s Foot Guards in the Imperial Army. The regiment was to be known as the Governor General’s Foot Guards. Since 1879, the Regiment has been headquartered at the Cartier Square Drill Hall.

To this day, the Governor General’s Foot Guards remains the senior reserve infantry regiment in Canada. An iconic national institution, the Regiment has conducted the Changing of the Guard ceremony on Parliament Hill and at Rideau Hall for over 40 years. While the scarlet tunics and bearskin caps are the public face of the Regiment, it is first and foremost a primary reserve combat arms unit, trained to support Canada’s defence interests domestically and abroad.

Members of the Regiment took part in the Nile Expedition of 1884 and the following year provided a company of sharpshooters to quell the North West Rebellion, where the Regiment suffered its first two casualties. The Regiment has served in the South African War and in both the First and Second World Wars. In the intervening years, members have participated in numerous United Nations and NATO operations, including service in the Middle East, Cyprus, Somalia, the Former Republic of Yugoslavia, Haiti, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, Sudan and Afghanistan. Currently the GGFG supports Op ATTENTION, which is Canada’s training assistance mission for NATO’s International Security Assistance Force in Afghanistan.

The Regiment maintains a robust domestic response capability, deploying soldiers to the 1997 Manitoba Floods and a full company to the 1998 Ice Storm. The Regiment also supports planned domestic operations, having contributed significantly to Op CADENCE 2010 (G8/G20). The Regiment has also plays a major role in 33 Territorial Battalion Group (TBG). The TBG is a composite organisation comprised of all units within 33 Canadian Brigade Group and it is designed to respond to a wide variety of short-notice domestic operations. From December 2006 to April 2009 and again from April 2010 to September 2012, the Regiment was assigned the role as lead unit.For service on active duty, members of the Regiment have been awarded over 500 decorations, including 3 Victoria Crosses. Twenty two of the Regiment’s 34 Battle Honours are emblazoned on both the Regimental and Queen’s Colours.

Date modified:

Governor General's Foot Guards

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du Governor General's Foot Guards

CIVITAS ET PRINCEPS CURA NOSTRA

« Supportons l'état et son chef »

Emplacement

Manège militaire de la place Cartier
2, promenade Reine Elizabeth
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0K2

Manège militaire de la place Cartier

Manège militaire de la place Cartier

Joignez-vous à notre équipe 

Vous cherchez du travail à temps plein ou à temps partiel? Nous embauchons et offrons d'excellentes perspectives de carrière. N'hésitez pas à appeler ou envoyer un courriel à notre recruteur qui se fera un plaisir de répondre à vos questions et de vous indiquer comment vous adresser à notre régiment.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Courriel : GGFG.Recruiting@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

Septembre à juin:

  • mardi soir 
  • 19 h à 22 h
  • une fin de semaine par mois.

L'emploi d'été à plein temps est disponible de mai à août.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Armes :

Voir une liste des armes et véhicules de l'Armée canadienne.

Tâches de mission

Un certain nombre d’unités de la Réserve de l’Armée se sont vu attribuer des tâches de mission précises. Les militaires au sein de ces unités sont formés pour avoir les capacités spécifiques voulues et être prêts à être pleinement intégrés, en tant qu’entité constituée, aux unités de la Force régulière auxquelles ils viennent en renfort.

Les tâches de mission de notre unité sont les suivantes : Services d’honneur – Notre unité de la Réserve est formée dans l’exécution des services d’honneur afin de fournir des gardes de cérémonie et des sentinelles à l’appui du gouvernement du Canada dans la région de la capitale nationale.

Qui nous sommes

Le Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) est le plus ancien régiment d’infanterie de la Réserve du Canada. Le Régiment a été mis sur pied le 7 juin 1872 et il loge au Manège militaire de la place Cartier à Ottawa. Il s’agit d’une unité d’infanterie de la Première réserve, et les soldats qui en sont membres servent le Canada à temps partiel. Le Régiment compte plus de 250 officiers et militaires du rang et est constitué de quatre compagnies, d’une musique et d’une garde de cérémonie. Les quatre compagnies sont désignées selon leur fonction et réparties comme suit : deux compagnies de carabiniers, une compagnie d’instruction et une compagnie de soutien. Le Régiment fait partie du paysage de la capitale nationale depuis plus de 145 ans, assurant une présence fonctionnelle et cérémonielle dans toute la région d’Ottawa.

Nos rôles à titre de soldats d’infanterie

Le GGFG est constitué essentiellement de soldats de la Réserve de l’infanterie qui s’entraînent à temps partiel et à temps plein en vue de participer à des missions nationales et internationales. Il peut donc intervenir sur la scène nationale, comme lorsqu’il s’est déployé après la tempête de verglas de 1998 pour aider la population de l’Ontario à se remettre de la catastrophe. Il peut aussi participer à des opérations internationales et d’appui à la Force régulière, comme il l’a fait récemment dans des pays comme Haïti, l’Afghanistan et le Soudan.

Notre rôle cérémoniel

En tant que gardes, nous entretenons un lien étroit avec la gouverneure générale et participons aux cérémonies qui ont lieu dans la région d’Ottawa. Le Régiment procède à la cérémonie de la relève de la garde sur la Colline du Parlement et à Rideau Hall depuis plus de 40 ans. Notre uniforme de grande tenue, composé de la tunique rouge et du bonnet en peau d’ours noir, est facile à reconnaître et est l’un des deux uniformes que porte la Garde de cérémonie pendant l’été. La sous-unité du Régiment qu’est la Garde de cérémonie perpétue la tradition des « régiments de garde » et exécute la cérémonie quotidienne de la relève de la garde tout l’été sur le parterre de la Colline du Parlement. En plus de représenter une excellente occasion d’emploi d’été à temps plein, les activités de la Garde de cérémonie se poursuivent tout au long de l’année.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Chris Lynam, CD, ADC
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant‑chef Neal Porter, CD

Communiquez avec nous

Governor General's Foot Guards
Manège militaire de la place Cartier
2, promenade Reine Elizabeth
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0K2

Téléphone : 613-990-6605
Courriel : GGFG_OR@forces.gc.ca

Nouvelles

L’adjudant-maître (retraité) Martin Lane et sa femme en la Musée régimentaire des Governor General’s Foot Guards

« Ça a toujours été un partenariat » pour les conservateurs du Musée des Foot Guards

Ottawa, en Ontario — Vous pouvez dire qu’Estelle Lane s’est mariée aux Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) en même temps que son mari, l’adjudant-maître (retraité) Martin Lane, qui y a été membre pendant 15 ans, mais le fait est qu’elle est devenue membre de la famille avant même que le couple rende le tout officiel en 1967.
Le 13 août 2019

Membres de la Garde de cérémonie en marche.

Un ancien tambour-major de la Garde de cérémonie participe à un survol comme pilote dans le cadre de Fortissimo

Moose Jaw (Saskatchewan) — Pour le capitaine Erik Temple, ancien tambour-major de la Garde de cérémonie (GC) des Forces armées canadiennes, Fortissimo 2019 fut un retour.
Le 25 juillet 2019

L’aigle à tête blanche

Des espèces en péril entre bonnes mains au Polygone de Connaught et Centre d’entraînement élémentaire d’Ottawa

Ottawa (Ontario) — Le Polygone de Connaught et Centre d’entraînement élémentaire (PCCEE), situé dans le sud-ouest d’Ottawa, est un carrefour principal d’entraînement au maniement des armes à feu pour les forces militaires et policières.
Le 23 juillet 2019

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

Le 7 juin 1872, Sa Majesté la Reine Victoria approuve l’ordre général 16 de la milice, autorisant ainsi la mise sur pied d’un bataillon de Foot Guards à Ottawa. Ce bataillon devait avoir la même préséance et le même statut dans la milice active que celui des Foot Guards de Sa Majesté dans l’Armée impériale. Devenu régiment, il est désormais connu sous le nom de Governor General’s Foot Guards. Depuis 1879, le quartier général du Régiment est basé au Manège militaire de la place Cartier.

À ce jour, le Governor General’s Foot Guards est le plus ancien régiment d’infanterie de la Réserve du Canada. Institution nationale emblématique, le Régiment effectue la cérémonie de la Relève de la garde sur la Colline du Parlement et à Rideau Hall depuis plus de 40 ans. Le Régiment, bien connu du public pour ses tuniques rouges et ses bonnets à poil, est avant tout une unité d’armes de combat de la Première réserve, dont l’instruction vise le soutien des intérêts militaires au pays et à l’étranger.

Les membres du Régiment participent à l’Expédition du Nil de 1884. L’année suivante, une compagnie de tireurs de précision est déployée pour réprimer la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest, dans laquelle le Régiment subit ses deux premières pertes humaines. Le Régiment sert dans la guerre d’Afrique du Sud et dans les deux guerres mondiales. Entre-temps, ses membres participent à de nombreuses opérations de l’OTAN et des Nations Unies, en l’occurrence au Moyen-Orient, à Chypre, en Somalie, dans l’ancienne République de Yougoslavie, en Haïti, en Éthiopie, en Sierra Leone, au Soudan et en Afghanistan. Actuellement, le GGFG soutient l’opération Attention, mission d’aide à l’instruction du Canada destinée à la Force internationale d’assistance à la sécurité de l’OTAN en Afghanistan.

Le Régiment maintient une solide capacité d’intervention à l’échelle nationale. Il envoie notamment des soldats au Manitoba lors des inondations de 1997 et une compagnie entière dans les régions touchées par la tempête de verglas de 1998. Il soutient la planification des opérations nationales et contribue largement à l’opération Cadence en 2010 (G8/G20). Le Régiment joue également un rôle important dans le 33e Groupe-bataillon territorial (GTT), une organisation diversifiée composée de l’ensemble des unités du 33e Groupe‑brigade du Canada et ayant pour but d’intervenir dans une grande variété d’opérations nationales à bref préavis. De décembre 2006 à avril 2009 et d’avril 2010 à septembre 2012, le Régiment s’est vu attribuer le rôle d’unité principale.En remerciement de leur service actif, les membres du Régiment ont reçu plus de 500 décorations, dont trois Croix de Victoria. Vingt-deux des trente-quatre inscriptions au drapeau du Régiment ornent aussi bien celui du Régiment que celui de la Reine.

Date de modification :