The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (Duke of Edinburgh's Own)

Unit Identification

The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa crest

ADVANCE

Who We Are

The Regiment, as part of 33 Canadian Brigade Group, is tasked to train soldiers in the light infantry role for augmentation to the Regular Force and for use in emergencies at home. The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (Duke of Edinburgh's Own) also proudly serve as the city of Ottawa’s official regiment. The Regiment is tasked, as needed, to provide Ceremonial Guards of Honour for visiting dignitaries and for National Ceremonies and events.  Another very active part of the Regimental family is the Cameron Highlanders Pipe and Drums who are regularly tasked in national ceremonial roles, competitions and events in the Ottawa Valley.  The Camerons' perennial home is the Cartier Square Drill Hall built in 1879, located at 2 Queen Elizabeth Drive, Ottawa, Ontario.

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information! We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Unit Parade Night: Thursday evenings (Sep - Jun): 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Email: CHofORecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Related Links

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer - Lieutenant-Colonel Christopher Jackson, CD
  • Regimental Sergeant-Major - Chief Warrant Officer Michael Lever, MMM, CD

Our History

The Regiment traces its history back to 1861 when a number of Militia companies were organized for the defense of Canada during the American Civil War. One of these companies was mobilized during the first Fenian Raid (Irish nationalists) into Canada from the United States in 1866. Later that year, nine independent infantry companies were united to form the 43rd Carleton Battalion of Infantry. In 1867, the 43rd provided the guard of honour for the opening of the first parliament of the newly formed Dominion of Canada. The 43rd Carleton Battalion of Infantry was disbanded in December 1875.

On 5 August 1881, the formation of the 43rd Battalion of Infantry was authorized. Almost immediately the unit was converted to rifles and re-designated the 43rd Ottawa and Carleton Battalion of Rifles. Permission was granted in January 1882 for the Regiment to adopt the motto of the City of Ottawa - ADVANCE. This remains the motto of the Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa and is worn on their badges.

Read more of our history.

Equipment

For information about the vehicles and weapons used by the Canadian Army visit our Equipment page.

Contact Us

The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa
Cartier Square Drill Hall
2 Queen Elizabeth Dr.
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K2

Telephone: (613)-990-6603

Hours of Operations

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Thursday evenings (Sep - Jun): 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Website inquiries

This page is maintained by the 4th Canadian Division Web OPI.

News

Secondary Title for The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa
News Release / August 10, 2013

Date modified:

The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (Duke of Edinburgh's Own)

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa

ADVANCE

« Avance »

Qui nous sommes

Partie intégrante du 33e Groupe-brigade du Canada, le régiment est chargé d’instruire les soldats pour qu’ils soient en mesure de jouer un rôle au sein de l’infanterie légère en renfort de la Force régulière et d’intervenir lors de situations d’urgence au Canada. Le Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (Duke of Edinburgh's Own) est également fier d’être le régiment officiel de la ville d’Ottawa. Selon les besoins, il agit comme garde d’honneur au cours de visites de dignitaires et dans le cadre de cérémonies et d’événements nationaux. Un élément fort actif de la famille régimentaire est le Cameron Highlanders Pipe and Drums; cet élément intervient régulièrement dans le cadre de cérémonies, de compétitions et d’événements d’envergure nationale se déroulant dans la vallée de l’Outaouais. Le régiment The Cameron Highlanders réside en permanence au manège militaire de la place Cartier, bâtiment construit en 1879 et sis au 2, Promenade Reine-Élizabeth, à Ottawa, en Ontario.

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’informations! Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre curriculum vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité : jeudi soir (septembre à juin) de 19 h à 22 h.

Courriel : CHofORecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Liens connexes

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Christopher Jackson, CD
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef Michael Lever, MMM, CD

Notre histoire

Les origines du régiment remontent à 1861, quand plusieurs compagnies de la Milice sont mises sur pied pour défendre le Canada pendant la guerre de Sécession aux États-Unis. Une de ces compagnies est mobilisée pendant le premier raid des féniens (nationalistes irlandais) mené au Canada depuis les États-Unis, en 1866. Plus tard au cours de cette même année, neuf compagnies d’infanterie indépendantes sont regroupées pour constituer le 43rd Carleton Battalion of Infantry. En 1867, ce bataillon fournit la garde d’honneur à l’ouverture de la première législature du tout nouveau Dominion du Canada. Le 43rd Carleton Battalion of Infantry est dissous en décembre 1875.

Le 5 août 1881, la formation du 43rd Battalion of Infantry est autorisée. Presque aussitôt, l’unité est équipée de fusils et donc rebaptisée 43rd Ottawa and Carleton Battalion of Rifles. En janvier 1882, le régiment est autorisé à adopter la devise de la ville d’Ottawa – ADVANCE (Avance), qui demeure la devise du Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa et figure toujours sur les insignes des membres du régiment.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

Équipement

Pour des informations sur les véhicules et les armes utilisés par l'Armée canadienne, visitez notre page d'équipement.

Contactez-nous

The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa
Manège militaire de la place Cartier
2, prom. Queen Elizabeth
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K2

Téléphone : (613)-990-6603

Heures de bureau

Du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 16 h.

Demandes de site Web

Cette page est maintenue par le représentant du BPR de la 4e Division du Canada pour le Web.

Nouvelles

Titre secondaire pour le Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa
Communiqué / Le 10 août 2013

Date de modification :