The Algonquin Regiment

Unit Identification

The Algonquin Regiment crest

NE-KAH-NE-TAH

"We Lead, Others Follow"

  

Location

North Bay

Martin Leo Troy Armoury
540 Chippewa St. West
North Bay, ON  P1B 8G6

_____

Timmins

355 Algonquin Blvd East
Timmins, ON  P4N 7H9

_____

Martin Leo Troy Armoury

Martin Leo Troy Armoury

Join Our Team

Looking for full-time or part-time work? We are hiring and provide excellent career opportunities. Please do not hesitate to call or email our recruiter who will be pleased to answer any questions you may have and provide direction on how to apply to our Regiment.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Sgt Frazer
Phone: 705-472-9305, Ext. 5195
Email: ALQR.Recruiting@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Find a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

September to May:

  • Thursday evenings
  • 6:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
  • one weekend per month.

Full-time summer employment is available from May to August.

Who We Are

The Algonquin Regiment Army Reserve is a part of 33 Canadian Brigade Group, a Reserve Brigade within the Canadian Armed Forces. The Regiment’s task is to augment Canada’s military by providing trained infantry soldiers. The Regiment is comprised of two companies. A Company is located in North Bay, Ontario, and B Company is located in Timmins, Ontario.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commander: Lieutenant-Colonel Ken McClure CD
  • Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer Arthur McKenzie, CD

Contact Us

North Bay

The Algonquin Regiment
Martin Leo Troy Armoury
540 Chippewa St. West
North Bay, ON  P1B 8G6

 

Timmins

The Algonquin Regiment
355 Algonquin Blvd East
Timmins, ON  P4N 7H9 

Phone: 705-472-9305
Email: alqregt@forces.gc.ca

News

The co-curators of the Governor General’s Foot Guards Regimental Museum stand among artifacts.

‘It’s always been a partnership’ for Foot Guards museum curators

Ottawa, Ontario — You could say Estelle Lane married the Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) right along with her husband, Master Warrant Officer (Retired) Martin Lane, who was a member for 15 years, but the fact is, she became a part of the family even before the pair made it official in 1967.
August 13, 2019

Bald eagle

Species at risk in good hands at Ottawa’s Connaught Ranges and Primary Training Centre

Ottawa, Ontario — The Connaught Ranges and Primary Training Centre (CRPTC) in Southwest Ottawa is a major hub for military and police firearms training.
July 23, 2019

Traditional sunset ceremony at Parliment Hill

Charge into summer with Fortissimo

Ottawa, Ontario — It couldn’t have been called pianissimo, which means “play it delicately.”
July 15, 2019

See more news

Our History

The Algonquin Regiment originated on July 1st, 1900 with the creation of the "97th Regiment of Rifles". The former Algonquin Rifles and today’s The Algonquin Regiment are truly northern Ontario’s Regiment, having been formed from companies spanning locations as far west as its first Headquarters in Sault Ste Marie to as far east as North Bay. Our independent companies can trace their official heritages back to 1863 and the Fenian Raids of 1866.

During our unit’s history, its rugged northern soldiers have answered every call for duty, and their sacrifice to Canada’s conflicts have earned our regiment 28 Battle Honours. Many of our soldiers continue to come from the north’s miners, loggers and hunters.

Read more of our history.

Date modified:

The Algonquin Regiment

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du Algonquin Regiment

NE-KAH-NE-TAH

« Nous menon, les autres suivent »

  

Emplacement

North Bay

Manège militaire Martin Leo Troy
540, rue Chippewa Ouest
North Bay, ON  P1B 8G6

_____

Timmins

355 Algonquin Blvd East
Timmins, ON  P4N 7H9

Manège militaire Martin Leo Troy

Manège militaire Martin Leo Troy

Joignez notre équipe

Vous cherchez du travail à temps plein ou à temps partiel? Nous embauchons et offrons d'excellentes perspectives de carrière. N'hésitez pas à appeler ou envoyer un courriel à notre recruteur qui se fera un plaisir de répondre à vos questions et de vous indiquer comment vous adresser à notre régiment.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Sgt Frazer
Téléphone : 705-472-9305, Ext. 5195
Courriel: ALQR.Recruiting@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone: 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous. 

Entraînement

septembre à mai:

  • jeudi soir
  • 18h30 à 22 h
  • une fin de semaine par mois.

L'emploi d'été à plein temps est disponible de mai à août.

Qui nous sommes

L’Algonquin Regiment de la Réserve de l’Armée fait partie du 33e Groupe-brigade du Canada, une brigade de la Réserve au sein des Forces armées canadiennes. Le Régiment a pour mission de renforcer les FAC en leur fournissant des soldats d’infanterie qualifiés. Le Régiment est formé de deux compagnies. La Compagnie A est située à North Bay, en Ontario, et la Compagnie B se trouve à Timmins, en Ontario.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Ken McClure, CD
  • Sergent-Major : Adjudant-chef Arthur McKenzie, CD

Communiquez avec nous

North Bay

The Algonquin Regiment
Manège militaire Martin Leo Troy
540, rue Chippewa Ouest
North Bay, ON  P1B 8G6

Timmins

The Algonquin Regiment
355 Algonquin Blvd East
Timmins, ON  P4N 7H9

Téléphone : 705-472-9305
Courriel : alqregt@forces.gc.ca

Nouvelles

L’adjudant-maître (retraité) Martin Lane et sa femme en la Musée régimentaire des Governor General’s Foot Guards

« Ça a toujours été un partenariat » pour les conservateurs du Musée des Foot Guards

Ottawa, en Ontario — Vous pouvez dire qu’Estelle Lane s’est mariée aux Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) en même temps que son mari, l’adjudant-maître (retraité) Martin Lane, qui y a été membre pendant 15 ans, mais le fait est qu’elle est devenue membre de la famille avant même que le couple rende le tout officiel en 1967.
Le 13 août 2019

L’aigle à tête blanche

Des espèces en péril entre bonnes mains au Polygone de Connaught et Centre d’entraînement élémentaire d’Ottawa

Ottawa (Ontario) — Le Polygone de Connaught et Centre d’entraînement élémentaire (PCCEE), situé dans le sud-ouest d’Ottawa, est un carrefour principal d’entraînement au maniement des armes à feu pour les forces militaires et policières.
Le 23 juillet 2019

La traditionnelle cérémonie militaire du crépuscule sur la Colline de Parlement

Prenez l’été d’assaut avec Fortissimo

Ottawa (Ontario) — Cette activité ne pouvait être baptisée « pianissimo », terme qui signifie « jouer très faiblement ».
Le 15 juillet 2019

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

Les origines du The Algonquin Regiment remontent au 1er juillet 1900, à la création du 97th Regiment of Rifles. Les racines de l’ancienne formation et de la nouvelle sont profondément ancrées dans le Nord de l’Ontario. En effet, ces régiments ont été composés à partir de compagnies situées aussi loin dans l’ouest que Sault Ste. Marie — lieu du premier quartier général — et dans l’est qu’à North Bay. Nos compagnies indépendantes peuvent retracer leurs vraies origines à 1863 et aux invasions des féniens de 1866.

Depuis la création de notre unité, ses robustes soldats du Nord ont toujours répondu à l’appel, et leur sacrifice durant les conflits auxquels le Canada a participé a valu au Régiment 28 honneurs de guerre. Nombre de nos soldats sont recrutés parmi les mineurs, les bûcherons et les chasseurs du Nord.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

Date de modification :