8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise's)

Unit Identification

8th Canadian Hussars Badge

REGI PATRIAEQUE FIDELIS -- Faithful to king and country

  

Related Links

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Our Team Recruiter

Name: Warrant Officer Ryan Seguin
Phone: 506-292-2140
Email: ryanseguin@forces.gc.ca

Name: Sergeant Darren Spicer
Phone: 506-872-0083
Email: darren.spicer@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Find a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

The unit trains on Thursday nights from 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

We also train one weekend a month. There will be some months in which we train more than one weekend.

There is full time summer employment that is offered to anyone wanting it.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

 Vehicles:

See a complete list of Vehicles and Weapons.

Who We Are

The 8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise’s) is a Primary Reserve unit with a long and distinguished history. The regiment was formed in 1848 in the Sussex area and was originally known as Saunders Horse. The 8th Canadian Hussars is Canada’s oldest continually serving Calvary regiment in Canada. The regiment was rerolled to an armoured unit during the second world war. When wars came, hundreds of Hussars joined the active service army and served with distinction on battlefields in France and Flanders in World War 1, and in Italy and Holland in World War II, They also served later in Europe under NATO in the Middle and Far East and in Cyprus as peace keepers for the United Nations.

 Today, The 8th Canadian Hussars are again militia soldiers, continuing to supply men and women to support regular army in places like Afghanistan where Canada has committed its forces.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer - Lieutenant-Colonel Tom Peppard, CD
  • Regimental Sergeant-Major - Chief Warrant Officer Jody Tower, MMM, CD

Contact Us

Moncton

8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise's)
299 Park St.
Moncton, NB
E1C 9L4

Phone: 506-860-5500, Ext. 5752

Sussex

8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise's)
9 Leonard Drive
Sussex, NB

Phone: 506-432-1040

News

Sergeant  Rodney Tatchell serving as part of the Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART)

Gagetown units are a different kind of busy

Oromocto, New Brunswick — Captain Matt Bernhardt has a good mental snapshot to illustrate the pace of life within his unit, 4 Artillery Regiment (General Support) Royal Canadian Artillery [4 Regt (GS)]: “Between July and December of last year, I was not home for more than about two weeks at a time. My last water bill was $15.”
June 6, 2018

Brigadier-General J.J.M.J. (Jocelyn) Paul

Understanding identities: a talk with Brigadier-General Jocelyn Paul

Ottawa, Ontario — Being an Indigenous member of the Canadian Army has brought many advantages to one of Canada’s most senior officers.
May 23, 2018

The newly re-designed 5th Canadian Division Support Group badge

New Visual Identifier for 5th Canadian Division Support Base Gagetown’s Support Formation

Gagetown, New Brunswick — A new visual identifier for 5th Canadian Division Support Group (5 CDSG) was unveiled on May 9th, 2018 during the 60th anniversary gala dinner for 5th Canadian Division Support Base Gagetown.
May 10, 2018

See more news

Our History

The earliest beginnings of the 8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise's) have traditionally been traced to the year 1775 in the Colony of Virginia where Captain John Saunders, of Princess Anne County, raised a troop of cavalry at his own expense to fight for the Crown against the Colonial rebels. This unusual Regiment included riflemen, grenadiers, artillery and cavalry, and it never knew defeat during the American conflict for independence. In September 1783, the Regiment as an entity sailed for Nova Scotia and reached Saint John on 27 September 1783. A large number of these Loyalists soldiers settled in the Saint John and Kennebecasis valleys by Loyalist soldiers, had a military tradition and indeed an effective militia.

In 1839, the York County Troop, known for a time as the York Light Dragoons, was mobilized for service in the Aroostook War, a conflict with American lumbermen that never quite came to open fighting. For four months they patrolled the border and roads between Woodstock, Fredericton and Saint John.

By 1848, eleven troops of cavalry were in existence. By authority of Militia General Order No 1 of 4 April 1848, these eleven independent troops were united to form a Regiment entitled the New Brunswick Yeomanry Cavalry. It is this date that is officially recognized as the formation date of the 8th Canadian Hussars.

Continue reading the 8th Canadian Hussars history.

Date modified:

8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise's)

Identification de l'unité

8th Canadian Hussars

REGI PATRIAEQUE FIDELIS -- Fidèle à mon roi et à ma patrie

   

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’information. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre Curriculum Vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Nom : Adjudant Ryan Seguin
Téléphone : 506-292-2140
Courriel : ryanseguin@forces.gc.ca 

Nom : Sergeant Darren Spicer
Téléphone : 506-872-0083
Courriel : darren.spicer@forces.gc.ca

Ou 

Téléphone: 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous. 

Entraînement

L’unité s’entraîne le jeudi soir, de 19 h à 22 h. Nous nous entraînons aussi une fin de semaine par mois.

Il y aura quelques mois où nous nous entraînerons plus qu’une fin de semaine.

Un emploi d’été à temps plein est offert à ceux qui le souhaitent.

Métiers dans notre unité

Équipement

Véhicules :


Voir la liste complète des armes et véhicules.

Qui nous sommes

Le 8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise’s) est une unité de la Première réserve ayant une longue et prestigieuse histoire. Le Régiment a été formé en 1848 dans la région de Sussex et était connu à l’origine sous le nom de Saunders Horse. Le 8th Canadian Hussars est le régiment de cavalerie actif le plus ancien au Canada. Le Régiment est devenu une unité blindée durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. En temps de guerre, des centaines de membres du 8th Canadian Hussars se sont joints aux forces actives. Ils ont servi avec distinction sur les champs de bataille en France et à Flandres durant la Première Guerre mondiale, ainsi qu’en Italie et en Hollande au cours de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Plus tard, ils ont également participé à des déploiements en Europe, dans le cadre des efforts de l’OTAN, au Moyen-Orient, en Extrême-Orient et à Chypre en tant que soldats du maintien de la paix pour les Nations Unies.

Aujourd’hui, les membres du 8th Canadian Hussars sont de nouveau soldats de la Milice. Le Régiment continue d’affecter des hommes et des femmes pour appuyer l’Armée à des endroits comme l’Afghanistan.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant - Lieutenant-colonel Tom Peppard, CD
  • Sergent-major régimentaire - Adjudant-chef Jody Tower, MMM, CD

Contactez-nous

Moncton

8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise's)
299 Park St.
Moncton, NB
E1C 9L4

Téléphone : 506-860-5500, Ext. 5752

Sussex

8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise's)
9 Leonard Drive
Sussex, NB

Téléphone : 506-432-1040

Nouvelles

Le sergent Rodney Tatchell, ), section du génie de l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC), contribue à améliorer la qualité de vie des résidents de Jacmel

Unités de Gagetown : plus occupées que jamais

Oromocto (Nouveau-Brunswick) — Cette anecdote du capitaine Matt Bernhardt illustre bien le rythme des activités à son unité, le 4e Régiment d’artillerie (Appui général), Artillerie royale canadienne (4 Régt [AG]) : « De juillet à décembre l’an dernier, je n’ai pas été à la maison pendant plus de deux semaines consécutives. Ma dernière facture d’eau s’élevait à 15 $. »
Le 6 juin 2018

Le brigadier-général J.J.M.J. (Jocelyn) Paul,

Comprendre l’identité : discussion avec le brigadier général Jocelyn Paul

Ottawa (Ontario) — Être un Autochtone membre de l’Armée canadienne a offert bien des avantages à l’un des officiers les plus hauts gradés du Canada.
Le 23 mai 2018

Le nouvel insigne de la Groupe de soutien de la 5e Division du Canada

Nouvel identifiant visuel pour la Formation de soutien de la Base de soutien de la 5e Division du Canada Gagetown

Gagetown  (Nouveau-Brunswick) — Un nouvel identificateur visuel pour le Groupe de soutien de la 5e Division du Canada (GS 5 Div CA) a été dévoilé le 9 mai 2018 lors du dîner du gala du 60e anniversaire de la 5e Base de soutien de la Division du Canada à Gagetown.
Le 10 mai 2018

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

Les origines du 8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise’s) remontent à une troupe à cheval que le Capitaine John Saunders, du comté de la Pincesse Anne, forme à ses frais en 1775 dans la colonie de la Virginie pour se battre au nom de la Couronne contre les colons rebelles. Ce régiment hors de l’ordinaire comprend des fusiliers, des grenadiers, une artillerie et une cavalerie, et n’encaisse aucune défaite de toute la guerre de l’Indépendance. En septembre 1783, le Régiment s’embarque en bloc pour la Nouvelle-Écosse et atteint Saint John le 27 septembre. Bon nombre de ses soldats, dits loyalistes, s’établissent dans les vallées des rivières Saint-Jean et Kennebecasis. La nouvelle colonie, principalement peuplée de soldats loyalistes, compte donc dès le début une forte tradition militaire et une milice efficace.

En 1839, la troupe du comté de York, appelée York Light Dragoons pendant un certain temps, est mobilisée pour intervenir dans le conflit d’Aroostook, qui met en cause des bûcherons américains et se résorbe avant le moindre combat réel. N’empêche que pendant quatre mois, la troupe patrouille le long des routes et de la frontière entre Woodstock, Fredericton et Saint John.

Onze troupes de cavalerie distinctes existent en 1848. Lorsque toutes les onze sont regroupées en vertu de l’ordonnance générale n o 1 de la Milice du 4 avril 1848, elles forment le régiment New Brunswick Yeomanry Cavalry. Cette date est reconnue comme celle de la fondation officielle du 8th Canadian Hussars.

Poursuivre la lecture : 8th Canadian Hussars.

Date de modification :