48th Highlanders of Canada

Unit Identification

48th Highlanders of Canada crest

Dileas Gu Brath

"Faithful Forever"

Who We Are

The 48th Highlanders of Canada is an infantry regiment in Toronto.

As the Army’s primary war-fighters and the core of the combat arms team, infantry soldiers are responsible for closing with and destroying the enemy. Supported by the artillery, regiments of armour and the combat engineers, infantry soldiers are capable of operating anywhere in the world in any environment - arctic tundra, mountains, jungle or desert - and in any combination of arms, including airmobile and amphibious operations.

Join Our Team

Please do not hesitate to call us for more information. We would be pleased to review your resume, and have you visit us for a tour of our unit.

Email: 32cbgrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Phone: 416-635-2771

Unit Parade Night: Friday evenings 7:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.

Related Links

Command Team

Commander: Lieutenant Colonel Harold Pedwell, CD

Sergeant Major: Chief Warrant Officer Derek Murphy, CD

Our History

In 1891 a group of men gathered in Toronto intent on forming the city's first Highland regiment. The regiment was designated by the Militia Department with the number "48" and the word "Highlanders" and shortly thereafter Lieutenant-Colonel John Irvine Davidson assumed command of the newly constituted 48th Highlanders of Canada.

The Regiment was gazetted on October 16, 1891, and began to drill at Upper Canada College. It first marched out on the 21st of April, 1892, to be greeted by crowds of cheering Torontonians. On the Queen's Birthday that year, the Regiment was presented with its first set of colours by His Excellency Lord Stanley of Preston, the Governor General of Canada.

Read more of our history.

Equipment

For information about the vehicles and weapons used by the Canadian Army visit our Equipment page.

Contact Us

48th Highlanders of Canada
Moss Park Armoury
130 Queen Street East
Toronto, ON M5A 1R9

Telephone: (416)-635-2765

Hours of Operations

Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Date modified:

48th Highlanders of Canada

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du 48th Highlanders of Canada

Dileas Gu Brath

« Toujours fidèle »

Qui nous sommes

Le 48th Highlanders of Canada est un régiment d’infanterie à Toronto.

L’infanterie, principale force combattante de l’Armée de terre et élément central de l’équipe des armes de combat, a pour rôle de s’approcher de l’ennemi et de l’anéantir. Avec l’appui de l’artillerie et des régiments blindés et du génie, les soldats d’infanterie peuvent mener des opérations, y compris des opérations aéromobiles et amphibies, n’importe où dans le monde, dans n’importe quel milieu - arctique, toundra, montagnes, jungle ou désert - et avec n’importe quelles armes.

Joignez notre équipe

N’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner pour obtenir plus d’informations! Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’étudier votre curriculum vitae et de vous faire visiter notre unité.

Courriel : 32cbgrecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Téléphone : 416-635-2771

Soirée de rassemblement de l’unité : vendredi soir de 19 h à 23 h.

Liens connexes

Équipe de commandement

Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Harold Pedwell, CD

Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef Derek Murphy, CD

Notre histoire

En 1891, des hommes se réunirent à Toronto dans le but de former le premier régiment Highland de la ville. Le ministère de la Milice désigna le régiment par le numéro « 48 » et le mot « Highlanders »; peu après, le Lieutenant-colonel John Irvine Davidson prit le commandement du tout nouveau régiment baptisé 48th Highlanders of Canada.

Le nom du régiment apparut dans la Gazette du Canada le 16 octobre 1891 et l’unité commença à s’entraîner à l’Upper Canada College. Le régiment défila pour la première fois le 21 avril 1892 et fut chaudement salué par de très nombreux Torontois. Cette même année, le jour de la fête de la Reine, le régiment reçut ses premiers drapeaux des mains de Son Excellence Lord Stanley of Preston, gouverneur général du Canada.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

Équipement

Pour des informations sur les véhicules et les armes utilisés par l'Armée canadienne, visitez notre page d'équipement.

Contactez-nous

48th Highlanders of Canada
Manège militaire de Moss Park
130 Queen Street East
Toronto, ON M5A 1R9

Téléphone : (416)-635-2765

Heures de bureau

Du lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 16 h.

Date de modification :